Dark

Understanding The Last of Us Part II | Girlfriend Reviews

Girlfriend Reviews
Views 1 160 743
89% 10 365 1 242

We have a very special, very different video for you all today. This isn't a review of The Last of Us Part II. This is an understanding of The Last of Us Part II. #tlou2 #TheLastOfUs #NaughtyDog
Special thanks to this talented man for his cover of Future Days by Pearl Jam. It's so beautiful: ruvid.net/video/video-LWCnUuH0oK4.html
Twitter: @itsgfreviews
Instagram: GirlfriendReviews
Facebook: Girlfriend Reviews
Merch:
teespring.com/stores/girlfriend-reviews
Watch us play and capture our footage on Twitch:
www.twitch.tv/girlfriendreviews
Support us on Patreon:
www.patreon.com/girlfriendreviews

Gaming

Published on

 

Jul 1, 2020

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 60
MajorEiswater
MajorEiswater Hour ago
Finished Part II on Saturday past. I couldn't agree more with your analysis of the story and the themes Naughtydog was trying to emphasise. The homophones and transgender of the consumer base is unfortunate and I believe their decision to focus on those elements robbed them of understanding and experiencing possibly one of the best pieces of storytelling this world has to offer currently.
Automatic Ocelot
Automatic Ocelot 5 hours ago
1:21 "Performing this shocking, vile act in the prologue is not Naughty Dog giving you a slap in the face, it is Naughty Dog giving you a punch in the guts and a frog in the throat, to make a powerful connection with the main character" I wish I could like this POV, but it couldn't be further from the truth. Portraying Joel as a sloppy man who mistook what he would have never done previously is misrepresenting what has been established in last first game. Joel was an asshole, yes, but he was cunning, quick to make judgements and was always on the edge about any and everything that could bring danger to him and Ellie. And as a result of such lack of understanding of Joel's traits that has previously been established, one can not but feel a slap in the face when Naughty Dog wants them to feel powerful connection to the main character.
TheMarsCydonia
I am not sure what you refer to when you mention Joel as a "sloppy man"? The fact he followed Abby to a secure location? What would have been the "cunning" move to do in Joel's place? Stay in the blizzard at the mercy of a horde of infected? Dying from hypthermia or by being eaten? I don't see how that's the cunning move.
Gamovich
Gamovich 7 hours ago
Bahahahahahah, now this is comedy! xD
Cuddle Buddee
Cuddle Buddee 7 hours ago
You play video games to feel good and for entertainment, not... this divisive crap. This is a shill review. Ghosts of Tsushima is a better, more satisfying, and more entertaining game.
TheMarsCydonia
"In my opinion..."
Daniel Mendez
Daniel Mendez 8 hours ago
Well said you guys !
BLACK HAND
BLACK HAND 10 hours ago
Tbh I think they kinda tanked Abby's character. I get what they're saying but killing Joel wasn't needed for the same results they wanted and it was done so poorly, forcing us to like Abby so much wasn't needed(It wouldn't needed to force us if they didn't make us hate her from the start), treating ellie in the game Like sht come on. I get what they were trying but as a gaming experience and story, a lot of it doesn't make sense and just stupid. If they wanted us to really care about Abby, feel the pain and the effects of anguish, this game should have been Abby's game, her own story not shoe in Joel and Ellie's story. The game could have been Abby majority of the time trying to track and kill Joel, feeling the anguish, with her friends trying to comfort her, them trying to face different challenges, making her go mad and at the last part so close to getting to Joel and killing him either finds her peace, gets killed, and or kills Joel in the most believable manner. The parts that make Abby feel human in the game feel forced.(Dog parts). How Joel died was also ridiculous, I'm up for him dying in the right execution but the way they did it was just poorly made and didn't give any of the characters justice. They treated Ellie like crap, Killed Joel in the stupidest scenario ever, and ruined what could have been a great character "Abby". The idea was there but the execution was really bad, they really wanted us to like Abby so much that the best parts of the game are in her parts, better weapons, weird scenes, but a more fun gameplay, it feels so biased towards Ellie that gets sht, making a case that "The old characters are bad, the new ones are good" vibe. All the great characters in the old and new game gets either killed or ruined like wtf was the point. This is my opinion, you guys cam bomb this comment for all I care.
Annie Wedgeworth
Annie Wedgeworth 13 hours ago
Beautiful essay, thank you. You put my feelings into words. Despite the shitstorm online, this game had a profound impact on me and I’m happy to hear it spelled out by someone else.
Snow begone
Snow begone 13 hours ago
Say what you want, give Tlou 2 a 10/10 but.... we will see how well naughty dogs next game does... lol... you fooled us once.. but not a second time...in my opinion N.D. took their reputation and flushed it down the toilet...if i was an investor in N.D. i'd be selling all my stock.. while it still has some value. lol
ThrummerOfLove
ThrummerOfLove 16 hours ago
Rubbish
raffd0206
raffd0206 18 hours ago
Thank you....
Alvin Mark
Alvin Mark 18 hours ago
Hey I am no hater to this game and no one is most of us are pissed off cauz of our father figure dying and you explained why which is only valid in a normal world cmon now its the apocalyptic world and he was a survivor saving his daughter, if you're that smart(actually you're not you're just over complicating the story to look smart) then why didn't you notice the BIGGEST mistake they did As you saw after the golf simulation that tommy is more concerned abt getting hit by hunters than planning to leave seattle Then WHY DID JOEL SAVED ABBY she could've been a hunter checking their hideouts planning their next ambush or something WTF I AM DONE WITH PEOPLE SUPPORTING THIS FILTHY SHIT OF A GAME JUST TO STAND OUT AND LOOK SMART ACTUALLY YOU'RE NOT!!🤬🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ I am not begging for likes but please like this enough so they can see this every like counts for joel❣
Alvin Mark
Alvin Mark 5 hours ago
San Blindsnake yes it is normal to see someone get killed in a POST APOCALYPTIC world LOL
Alvin Mark
Alvin Mark 5 hours ago
San Blindsnake are you blind or what I said she could’ve been a hunter they were not even concerned what this outsider was doing in jackson and didn’t catch on Abby weird reaction on hearing his name is Joel So you’re telling me 2 smart survivors were too smart for 20 years and after 4 years there instincts of survival is dead?
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 17 hours ago
"I am not begging for likes but please like this enough so they can see this every like counts for joel❣" I can explain the level is stupidity in this request... But I guess is in line with your (supporters) side... "Then WHY DID JOEL SAVED ABBY" I don't know... Let me think... Did you played the game? Or do you think is normal to let a young girl get killed by infected? Also, do you know how Jackson works and its politics to strangers and other communities? I would say I have a feeling but I just know you don´t know... "tommy is more concerned abt getting hit by hunters than planning to leave seattle" Let me guess... Single... You don't know how women's work? Maybe you should play the first game again to see how Maria acts and operates... "I am no hater to this game..." Of course you are... And you know it... LOL
C Peterson
C Peterson 22 hours ago
I liked Abby more than Ellie in this game.
SSGG Random
SSGG Random 22 hours ago
This game is the perfect description of the phrase: ``an eye for an eye and the world will be blind`` - Mahatma Gandhi
Naufal Khairullah
this game is amazing for me. the story not in the direction that make me happy but, i love playing it
Bruno Alves
Bruno Alves Day ago
You guys here me out, there's a huge chance this game is gonna win game of the year. And for me, so far, it totally deserves it. We'll be talking about this gem for decades to come.
WolfRathmA
WolfRathmA Day ago
That was AM... WAIT FOR IT... AZING!!
Rambo
Rambo Day ago
You have hit the nail on the head. I could see this when I played and felt most missed the point etc. This was a masterpiece but maybe one that people were just not willing to accept. As you say bravo. I loved it.
Divinest Beats
They make us play as Abby more than we played as Ellie. That's what pissed me off. Playing as characters I don't care about. I only know Ellie, Joel and Tommy. And joel is dead. They barely showed Tommy and Ellie is only in half of the whole game plus she turned to a psycho killer
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 17 hours ago
@LemonMurder People tend to forget the most important subliminal message of this game... are you good enough at heart to at very least pity a destroyed person as Abby?
LemonMurder
LemonMurder Day ago
you dont have to care about her, you have to understand her. I loved this game but really hated the idea of playing abby on my first play through. I didn't care about her really until she was descending through the tower with Lev. when we came to that, I couldnt help but empathise with this girl who just wants to redeem herself for the actions and life choices that she knew were wrong. So for a good 25% of the game i absolutely hated it because I just wanted to get back to Ellie but started to love it again when I understood her motivations. You aren't supposed to care about Abby immediately but you are supposed to understand her eventually
Justin Newman
This analysis is excellent. Couldn’t have said it better myself. This game made me realize things about myself and that is what good storytelling is supposed to do. It’s too bad, yet unsurprising, that people see the narrative as a political agenda.
Art
Art Day ago
I like this game and I like the story
Henryque Cabral
HOW DARE THE BOTH OF YOU, you made me cry ;-;
Saúl Fernández
Probably this comment will be lost and never reach you Girlfriend Reviews, since the video was released 1 month ago, but I just finished the game and I needed to write this. I've been watching, reading and thinking about the reviews of my favorite content creators for the past 2 hours and... I think I've found the best one in this video. The video is short but dense. I've rewatched it already like 3 times, and in each one you guys pointed at something that snapped in my mind and got me like "Wow, that's right, they did that and I felt that". So, congratulations on the review guys! I love this "more serious, game-journalist-like" vids, I encourage you to do more, and if possible, 15-20 min length for this format I think it would be appreciated. Nevertheless, you're hilarious, keep also the other comedy format :)
David Kwon
David Kwon Day ago
Instead of participating and fanning the flames of hyper negativity or hyper positivity, which is sadly rampant (e.g. 10s and 0s on Metacritic), people should realize there is such a thing as a spectrum and that ones viewpoint can land somewhere in the middle. There is nothing wrong with that. A game doesn't have to be a masterpiece, or a piece of trash. It can be decent, or good. Be willing to evaluate a game for it's obvious strengths and weaknesses, and realize there is a reason the game is so divisive. When you take a game such as this and declare it as an irrefutable masterpiece or as the worst game ever, that's where the floodgates of accusations and hate on BOTH sides ensue.
David Kwon
David Kwon 14 hours ago
@San Blindsnake I've seen lots of actual explanations in comments of why they didn't like it. In fact I actually see the opposite, where people who say it's a masterpiece don't explain why, or it's super vague or just, "how it touched them". But if you want something specific, watch reviews by SkillUp or YongYea. Even AngryJoe. The latter two still consider it decent but go to explain to lengths the good and the bad.
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 15 hours ago
"When you take a game such as this and declare it as an irrefutable masterpiece or as the worst game ever, that's where the floodgates of accusations and hate on BOTH sides ensue." Yeah... But you need to assume that one of the sides are wrong. To accept this game is in the "middle" would imply problems. Problem that need more justification than just "tastes"... When I start seeing good arguments from people criticizing the game, I would be more inclined to accept the middle ground... So far the main argument is "I didn't like that"... And that´s not a technical argument, just tastes...
PsychCutioner
Finally someone! Thank you for this video, everyone should see it.
Yashovardhan Utpat
Now thats what i call a review. BRAVO.
Christoph
Christoph 2 days ago
Powerful connection with Ellie? Mad, sick, heartbroken? Sure ... then at least give me the option to kill the *§$" who killed my father (like the first game gave me the option to sacrifice Ellie) and don't force the ending YOU like down my throat. If you don't see this, you choose to be blind.
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 15 hours ago
@Narrativamente Obviously he didn't play it...
Narrativamente
The first one didn't give the option.
Adrian Dima
Adrian Dima 2 days ago
imagine being such a simpleton, not understanding the complexity of this game thru emotions, feelings and just judging it by: joel dead, game bad herp derp derp
Virtuoso80
Virtuoso80 14 hours ago
I think it's a reasonable debate to talk about what we want from video games. If some people just want to be entertained and escape from reality for a time, that's up to them. No game is required to cater to only that, but if you were expecting that from this game, it definitely didn't give you what you wanted, so I understand being disappointed on that level.
SUPER GAME
SUPER GAME 2 days ago
Man, I love you guys. Finally someone is thinking as I am.
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 15 hours ago
We are much more than you may thing...
Little Slimy
Little Slimy 2 days ago
I listened, and I am not convinced.
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 15 hours ago
You don+t need to be convinced or even like the game... I don´t like "dark souls" but I know is an awesome game... All that is needed is to not be stupid....
Andre Laguna
Andre Laguna 2 days ago
I sincerely hope that Neil Druckman and his team can, someday, watch this sincere and beautiful interpretation that you guys wrote for them.
Andre Laguna
Andre Laguna 2 days ago
@Girlfriend Reviews This is incredible! It is not only an honor to be acknowledged by Druckman, Kojima and so many other talented artists... This is also a mutual reward for both sides. I bet that these guys feel delighted with your videos, probably thinking "finally somebody understood what I meant and resepected my work as it is, not as it should have been". Shelby and Matt, you guys are a breath of fresh air to the review genre. Well deserved!
Girlfriend Reviews
Neil Druckman retweeted it.
Ultimate Nintendo Ninja
Is anyone else scrolling through the comments, trying to find the death threats she mentioned in her other review?
Boba Phet
Boba Phet 2 days ago
Just got a bit teary. Great analysis.
Pouya cooper
Pouya cooper 2 days ago
at first i wrote a negative comment but then i saw that matt editing video and putting ellie and abby's experiences together and then ashley talked about it and...... it made sanse thank you guys for putting this video. but there is the other part of my brain speaks that the way they killed off joel was wrong.they killed him before the tutorial of the game ended.he deserved better. maybe if we played the flash backs of abby all at first and connected with her before hating her and through her journey she met ellie and they became friends and at near end of the game she found out that ellie's step dad is joel and then she killed him...maybe the game made sense
JuggaloDav
JuggaloDav 2 days ago
Girlfriend Reviews did as good of a job on this review as Naughty Dog did on The Last Of Us 2! Bravo you guys!!!♡♡♡
jojo198ful
jojo198ful Day ago
@JuggaloDav ok
JuggaloDav
JuggaloDav Day ago
@jojo198ful quite the opposite :)
jojo198ful
jojo198ful Day ago
So it was Bad?
Telum-X
Telum-X 2 days ago
🤯 Let me just say: In a world where people would rather play a video game that teaches HARD ASS life lessons, (death of ego) over a game filled with leisurely fun, it's very easy to see the victory for Naughty Dog here. 🙏🏼
Telum-X
Telum-X 2 days ago
Also, the girl that made this video is incredibly talented, and her portrayal of this game is spot on. 👌🏼
Ferris Blusa Beats
Bravo spot on!
agentaxe
agentaxe 2 days ago
Game of the decade! Wait can't even remember what was last decade's best game!
Helen Zouth
Helen Zouth 2 days ago
Wow i didn't realize that Ellies' Days in Seattle and Abby's Days had so many similar details
Sean Sheridan
Sean Sheridan 3 days ago
I'm always amazed at how some people miss the points of media. People who wish Ellie got revenge on Abby are the same people who watch things like the Wolf of Wall Street and think Jordan Belfort is someone to admire.
Sean Sheridan
Sean Sheridan 2 days ago
@Blue Lions TV - A Chelsea Channel Exactly. It's the type of people who didn't even play the game and judged the game off the leaks who annoy me the most, they're not even giving the game a shot to tell it's story
Blue Lions TV - A Chelsea Channel
Thank you. This game highlighted how skewered gaming RUvid really is. It’s fully of these incel, neckbeard characters who do have plenty of time on there hands too upload consistently. Unfortunately these voices are so prevalent on this platform. It’s why we get so much nonsense drama over anything and everything because of them.
Sean Sheridan
Sean Sheridan 3 days ago
You're not supposed to agree with Abby and her friends. You're meant to understand why they did it, I don't like that they killed Joel but at this point, after what he did, it was inevitable. He killed so many, and doomed so many more, that eventually someone was gonna find him
wowathena
wowathena 3 days ago
sequel feels like someone took Count of Monte Cristo (journey of revenge), Pulp Fiction (non consistent plot narration), the Departed (sudden death of main protagonist),Mad Max 2: the road warrior(brutal war between 2 groups), Face Off (good guy/bad guy switch) and World War Z(zombie apocalypse), placed them all into a blender and made a smoothie.
Narrativamente
Delicious!
Lucas Nikodemus
Lucas Nikodemus 3 days ago
Omg, Dave Chapelle❤️❤️❤️
Nathan H
Nathan H 3 days ago
Just finished the game. Thank you for putting this into words what I have been feeling.
Troy Weatherford
Troy Weatherford 3 days ago
The hate isn't directed at y'all, just this disappointing social experiment of a game
creeper awww man
creeper awww man 3 days ago
2:46 What the song in the background I have heard it,but I don't the name Can anyone tell me
pica power
pica power 3 days ago
Look I understand that you understand but please understand, I appreciate naughty dog trying to elevate the medium by being thought provocative and innovative in cross story telling but tbh videogames are played for fun and going through this soul torturing admist the real world crisis that is going perhaps may have been too much for people looking for an escape. This was a creative choice by the people who chose to put this out there to purposely cause questioning. I don't think the backlash would have been so severe if people know upfront what they are signing on to experience. A little transperancy might have gone a long way. Like you said videogames are videogames so why not let videogames be videogames and leave out the turmoil. I play videogames for fun not to question my moral integrity but alas maybe some people enjoy this and need to be stimulated.
San Blindsnake
San Blindsnake 3 days ago
"I play videogames for fun not to question my moral integrity but alas maybe some people enjoy this and need to be stimulated." I play them for escapism and to feel something. The definition of art in a way... Maybe I´m getting old, but most games are boring to me, this one was fantastic...
pica power
pica power 3 days ago
@Philip aw don't be like that. It's just that I don't disagree with you at all. There really isn't anything I differ from your outlook on the subject. I feel that as much as I try to disect this game as much as possible. I arrive at the same conclusion that it was not necessary to do. I just think perhaps the delivery wasn't executed properly. The general consensus is the game is not liked by what direction it went to. That's gotta tell you something right? It's not do much direction but if your running the risk of pissing people off then at least do it better imo. All I'm saying if I'm saying anything at all is that ghost of Tsushima is AWESOME and it help alleviate the sour grapes I was eating from tlou2
Philip
Philip 3 days ago
@pica power I see trying to have a good conversation apparantly doesn't work. Ayt.
pica power
pica power 3 days ago
@Philip ok
Philip
Philip 3 days ago
I mean, video games can be a good medium to say something controversial or divisive. Everything you said about letting games be games can be said the same thing about movies. Why not just let every movie be about action and heroes beating up villains? Movies are also for fun, but there are movies that exist to challenge or provoke thought; Joker is the most recent example I can think of. These ARTISTIC mediums are filled with ARTISTS with ideas and visions. Not every game has to be mindless shooty shoot shoot action, just like every movie can't just be comic book Disney adventures. There's going to be games like TLOU2 and movies like Joker that will be made and you can't really stop that from happening. If you want every game to be just mindless, ubiquitous fun, Ubisoft and Activision have you covered. I say let Naughty Dog do their own thing, regardless of whether or not people like it.
Adam Nienke
Adam Nienke 3 days ago
I cannot understand the absolute hate this game has received, Im so happy to see other people who enjoyed it as much as I did.
Gabriel Campos
Gabriel Campos 3 days ago
Anyone knows the name of the score that starts at 2:50?
ponchoskunk420
ponchoskunk420 3 days ago
I 100% agree with what you were talking about. After completing the game, my biggest complaint is the pacing of the story. It felt so SLOW at points, particularly the flash backs.
Hatem Kamel
Hatem Kamel 3 days ago
I now realized that maybe, if ellie killed abby, then LEV, would return and kill ellie, hence “revenge is a fool’s game”.
Sev3617
Sev3617 3 days ago
Matt you’re such a kickass editor. :)
Paul Martin
Paul Martin 3 days ago
I couldn’t agree more. It was a great story, and a work of art. I’ve been gaming for over 40 years (started with Pong, Atari 2600, Sega Master System, et al) and this game is phenomenal. I also play it while my girlfriend (wife) watches. Love you guys.
Echost Studio
Echost Studio 3 days ago
Game of Thrones season 8 The Last Jedi and the Gulf of Us Part II Star Trek Picard are all the same subverted expectations
chocobo child
chocobo child 3 days ago
She realizes killing Abby won’t make her feel better
goldforpewter
goldforpewter 3 days ago
This is the best comment section ever for Tlou 2 lovers to come
Jimmy DeCourcy
Jimmy DeCourcy 4 days ago
And this is why I love this channel! You guys don't give in to all the bs around a game whether its from gamers or devs you stay true.
Rafael Guimarães
the last of us II is probably the best game i’ve ever played (yes sue me). i’ve never cried so hard with ANY media like i cried with this game. it’s truly an emotional journey and a pure stroke of genius from naughty dog. i feel like the debate is just the last jedi’s debate all over again (more of the “noo [beloved character] can’t die, this is disgraceful SJW trash!!!!” nonsense). in a couple of years this game will get more of the praise it deserves.
Paul Gerardo
Paul Gerardo 4 days ago
Great video
LateNightRewrites
It'd be one thing if naughty dog didn't purposefully misrepresent the story by changing Joel's character models into the older one (not to mention replacing Jesse with Joel) just to make it seem like he'd be in the game. I think they new that angry Ellie doesn't hold a candle to Joel who, while angry himself, is so incredibly more nuanced than her character. Plus Abby is comically jacked and honestly can't tell if she's meant to be transitioned.
Chris C.
Chris C. 4 days ago
I'm glad video games are catching up to the rest of artistic expression (sculpture, painting, books, movies). Too bad the children who review-bomb don't understand or appreciate it.
Next videos
Halo | Girlfriend Reviews
11:16