Dark

Samsung Galaxy Fold Review: A fragile, uneven step toward the future

Engadget
Subscribe
Views 303 755
87% 4 079 592

Every once in a while, I’m lucky enough to pick up something that feels like it came straight out of the future. This is one of those times -- sort of. I've been living with Samsung's Galaxy Fold for a week now, and I can’t understate how important this thing is. It represents a new way of THINKING about smartphones and almost single-handedly changes what we should expect from them. It's a device that is absolutely worth celebrating, but buying one? For $2,000? I’m not so sure about that.
Read more:www.engadget.com/2019/04/22/samsung-galaxy-fold-review-expensive-experiment
Subscribe to Engadget on RUvid: engt.co/subscribe
Engadget's Buyer's Guide: www.engadget.com/buyers-guide/
Get More Engadget:
• Like us on Facebook: facebook.com/engadget
• Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/engadget
• Follow us on Instagram: instagram.com/engadget
• Read more: www.engadget.com
Engadget is the original home for technology news and reviews.

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Apr 21, 2019

engadgettechnologyconsumer techgadgetssciencegeartechsamsunggalaxyfoldgalaxy foldreviewfoldingfoldablephonehuaweimate xbattery lifebatteryscreenjellybrokenbrokepricecostreleaserelease datedatevsversusiphone xsgalaxy s10

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 1 254
Tom Bering
Tom Bering Month ago
"samsung told us we could not..." and there goes the trust for this review, when the vendor tells you what you can and can't do, then you won't get the full picture, only what "they" wan't you to hear.
Abhijit Meti
Abhijit Meti Month ago
Here is a thought as foldable phone become a norm the apps will become tablet mode compactable.. and Android tablets may become a thing..
Angrynoodle 1
Angrynoodle 1 Month ago
You mean overstate?
James Hahn
James Hahn Month ago
Your review is the best so far. That Marques Brownlee dude is becoming more and more whiny. I think his head is swelling up bigger than ever before.
friedrich nietzsche
I don,t trust Samsung Company, and Name too!!! I don.t liked Samsung!!!
Johnny Fire
Johnny Fire Month ago
a 2000 euro demo? hahha no sammy keep to yourself
Bond James Bond
Bond James Bond Month ago
The Samsung Galaxy Fold would have been a pick pocket's dream. Stick that long ass phone in your back pocket and she's gone in 3 seconds flat.
PLATINUM Computer
i dont like the gap at hinge, between 2 side of screen, just too big gap. The best so far .... i think comes from Huawei
RacerC45
RacerC45 Month ago
Who on earth would want to by a phone with no headphone jack?
paul Bae
paul Bae Month ago
Samsung was rushing to get it out in the market before its competitor.. hope it would fix the issue when it's out again.
Joseph Atnip
Joseph Atnip Month ago
$2,000 is ridiculous I can seriously go out and find a 2002 Chevy cavalier and a boost Mobile phone and pay for a year of service and still have money to put in my pocket
msfklfl123
msfklfl123 Month ago
Honest Review that's not focused on bashing one segment of the product.
Catflap
Catflap Month ago
Rather buy a laptop if I wanted a bigger screen, and who the fuck is using the tiny front screen when it's a double screen phone? I play crossword and sudoku apps on my oneplus 3, and I like the fact I can play it one handed. Surely if you wanted a two handed gaming device you'd get a switch. If you wanted to do work on your phone you'd have a laptop. I really don't know why you'd buy something so fragile that's 100% fucked if dropped. Not worth the money in the slightest.
Bobby Lloyd
Bobby Lloyd Month ago
2 reasons why i switched to samsung s10+ vs. holding out for galaxy fold 1. $2000 is wrong for an uneven first gen and when in normal position (not in the full display)is a piece of crap 2. the other generations will be better so ye. i like the idea, but it needs improvising.
Marcus Wong
Marcus Wong Month ago
'A few compromises'?? it breaks before you can test it out after couple days lmao... Waiting for Samsung to recall / refund all of them and give out free S10 for those who were the 'guinea pigs' testers for their prototypes.
Bring Me Bangtan seonyeondan
Great informative video、very detailed imo. Love the inclusion of blackpink ! I personally couldnt see myself spending 2k on a phone. I have a note 8 and things are fine for me. But i highly think in later models of the fold、it could be a great phone
Dave Barrack
Dave Barrack Month ago
I have zero faith that this thing won't develop noticeable scoring along the fold after a few months, and eventually crack and break. The most important review this device can receive will be a year from now.
raul cordova
raul cordova Month ago
people is never happy with nothing
Xerator
Xerator Month ago
I dont even care what some incompetent reviewers has to say, Im rooting for new technology so Im rooting for Samsung
Matthew Alner
Matthew Alner Month ago
@ 5:53 what app is this?
Simon Beeson
Simon Beeson Month ago
They should just sell this through Chanel at $200,000 a piece.. they'll make more money.. and those ppl won't break it or complain publicly if it does!
Roo Ster
Roo Ster Month ago
For the money this costs you can buy a proper camera, a good tablet, a good smartphone and a decent laptop. And all 4 will be performing better and longer than this piece of crap ever will. This is not an item for people with an IQ over 65.
KmanAust
KmanAust Month ago
Cant't wait until Apple does this properly
alwaysarcastic**
An actually detailed review!
lets get it
lets get it Month ago
Ayyy I see black pink🖤💗
Nysro1640
Nysro1640 Month ago
Between the obvious dent that runs through the middle, the uneven close and most importantly the cheap looking OS... pass, I'm sticking with the gorgeous iPhone XS and the beautiful iOS.
haminh nguyen
haminh nguyen Month ago
ahahaha, BLACKPINNKKKKK
Acid Blood
Acid Blood Month ago
anyone who bought this will regret it in about 3 years time guaranteed
Casi Epico
Casi Epico Month ago
Most useless phone in decades. The things i can buy with $2000. A high end tv. A super gaming computer. 4 new ps5. You gotta be a complete moron to spend 2000 on this.
Owen Loh
Owen Loh Month ago
lol i know this is stupid but what the cartoon that was playinf at the beginning
Fasoliagemista
Fasoliagemista Month ago
YOU GOOGLED ABOUT POKÉMON LIKED THE VIDEO
Muddy Funker
Muddy Funker Month ago
Looks like an expensive solution to a problem that doesn't exist. This will go the same way as other pointless tech fads like curved tv's and 3d.
seinundzeiten
seinundzeiten Month ago
Too early, the screen has all sorts of defects with it...
Kshitij gamer
Kshitij gamer Month ago
A good unbiased review by Engadget unlike iVerge.
Zero Cool
Zero Cool Month ago
Please don't use 24 fps. It should never ever be used for online content. The majority of monitors have a frequency of 60 hz. Since this isn't a multiple of 24, there will be video judder (non-smooth motion) when displaying 24 fps video. Therefore you should never use anything but 30 or 60 fps.
elijahthesamurai
Why on earth would i want a phone that folds and gets larger? I have no use for this. My main concern would be how fast your battery gets drained while having that large screen open. Interesting how this guy watches large women working out.
HGST
HGST Month ago
This is courage
secretshadowgov
secretshadowgov Month ago
that crease looks horrible
pitthepig
pitthepig Month ago
I don't get why the unusually high dislike ratio. This review seems well balanced to me. Maybe that's the problem for the fanboys?
Chevaughn Bennett
Most persons don't like the phone itself
Ahmad Nurzid Rosli
Not quite there yet...and with that price and its UGLY.
AngryKoala Insane
a few words: HUAWEI MATE X.
belchmelch
belchmelch Month ago
google glass v2 by other OEMs is the future IMO. and maybe control it with voice and gesture on your watch/phone. isn’t that “continuity” app a term used by Apple linking all its devices... the crease is sill annoying to me... $2K phone that comes with BOTH an offset notch and crease. i think Google should not have given up on its Glass... i’m guessing Amazon, Apple, and Google will do something with Eyewear... and will skip a foldable tablet...
mekman4
mekman4 Month ago
I wish the fragility wasn’t an issue then I could see foldables becoming more than a gimmick.
d b
d b Month ago
Oh c’mon...it’s an answer in search of a question. It’s the Swiss Army knife - sure it has scissors and a knife blade but they’re both pretty inadequate
Gabriel Klein
Gabriel Klein Month ago
This is an alpha product.
FatheredPuma81
FatheredPuma81 Month ago
Your $2000 Tablet phone that probably drinks power has 2 2000mAh batteries for a total of 4000mAh meanwhile my normal $200 phone has a 5000mAh battery... that's Samsung for you.
DA BUL HEEMIEHEEM SP
This is my personal opinion on this thing, the Samsung galaxy fold is very innovative and creative. However, it lacks durability because of the screen being damage once the individual folding/unfolding multiple times. There are videos on RUvid showing the screen cracking and bulging on the edges of the phone and inside the folding mechanism. It's not even worth $2000 dollars, to be honest. It's too fragile and it must be handled with a sound touch and care. So, I will wait for a more advanced version of the Samsung fold.
ADK 46er
ADK 46er Month ago
Android fanboy
ADK 46er
ADK 46er Month ago
Your a joke
Atul Gupta
Atul Gupta Month ago
Waiting for Apple to come out with the real thing.
GoldenChicken
GoldenChicken Month ago
This is a very biased review of a ground breaking electronic device.
Intelligence Injection
Foldable phones are like Kinect. Everyone thought it’s cool but nobody will actually want to own it
Theme Park Adventurists
Does it play Pokémon Go? Lol that is the question lol
Brian your tech friend
Lo lo loooove it! 🙂🙏
PRIVATE SECTOR 042
Hahaha🤣 the fake ball Earth at the intro.. yep brainwashing at its finest.. But nobody's paying attention as usual. Be sure to leave your hate comments below.
selw0nk
selw0nk Month ago
When the ifold comes out i'm gonna stick clay in the crevices, try to peel the screen off and drop the phone......then rant on Twitter about how Apple failed and watch people sh#! on the whole project......just ridiculous.....
Mason Plank
Mason Plank Month ago
It sucks that they missed the mark so bad on this, the tiny screen and uneven form factor are hard selling points, then the price... and now the internal screens breaking..
Lynn
Lynn Month ago
I could never afford this price for a phone. Hopefully, if this become a standard for phones, it will get cheaper and more affordable. With new technology, give it time for companies to improve it.
8Bit Gamer
8Bit Gamer Month ago
Lol he makes it sound like it's an exciting phone but everything he said was always paired with a negative. For two grand I'm going nowhere near it.
Boa_ Mamba
Boa_ Mamba Month ago
ITS NOT WATER PROOF? THERE BEST BE A GREAT CASE
Jared S
Jared S Month ago
Awesome tech, although I cannot see myself purchasing it at this time. Doesn't look like it can withstand young children.
one punch god
one punch god Month ago
Another Samsung garbage mobile 🗑🗑were it's belong
Nalanease TMI
Nalanease TMI Month ago
Ugly phone. I will buy a 100 dollar smart phone and make it last me 5-6 years. Never will I invest $1000 into a phone.
Ramon Ronquillo
Ramon Ronquillo Month ago
All android users were bashing Apple for selling the iPhone X for $1k? Y’all android users all quiet now that Samsung brought out a phone that breaks easily after a few folds and is almost $2k. Apple is and always will be better
Ayoub Faisal
Ayoub Faisal Month ago
2000 dollars and it still isn't perfect!
barbara Corcoran
1990 brick phone - indestructible 2000 flip phone - durable 2010 smart phone - brittle 2020 fold phone - fragile 2030 clever phone - destructible The cycle is complete. Why does it feel like tech is going backwards hmmmm
OLivIA Holmes
OLivIA Holmes Month ago
phone case designers:am i joke to you?
__
__ Month ago
Say what you will, it's an innovation. Something Apple has been unable to do.
Dylan M
Dylan M Month ago
This is a great innovation, and I love the idea and use cases. That being said, I'm not going to pay 2,000 dollars for the first generation of this technology. Especially when there are already so many concerns about the integrity of the device itself. I will be waiting for them to perfect this technology and then I will make my investment. By then It may even have been adopted by multiple other phone manufacturers.
Jamba Juice
Jamba Juice Month ago
Dylan Mork so then it’s not so much about the innovation, it’s about Samsung making the innovative product? If Apple debuted a device that perfected what Samsung is prematurely trying to get to market now, does the idea lose value because it was implemented on an Apple device? Do you really love innovation?
Google Reviewer
Google Reviewer Month ago
Appalling reliability, malfunctioning screen, thicker than a brick, titchy single screen, rip off "fleece your customers" ridiculous price....what's there not to like?
thhdhn2
thhdhn2 Month ago
I don’t think this will sell.
Billy Wilson
Billy Wilson Month ago
Two grand sticking almost halfway out your pocket. Be careful buddy.
Jesse Pinkman
Jesse Pinkman Month ago
A tablet that you don’t need to drop to break it.
QSC Caddy
QSC Caddy Month ago
waiting for the flossy review....the real truth
Paul Aherne
Paul Aherne Month ago
At about 2 grand for a phone and underated laptop/pad? Forget it!
Justin DeMatteo
Justin DeMatteo Month ago
The front screen should just be bigger
mountopian 1
mountopian 1 Month ago
Just shut up. Its NOT!!!
Kamran Kazemi-Far
I was looking forward to this but it just seems half-baked just like most Samsung features
Tech4U
Tech4U Month ago
I don't feel its the future, more the past. 10 yrs ago was right👍 Was thinking the same as you said it, it looks like an ancient Ericsson device. The screen has a failure with one half on some, why? It should be a one piece screen surely, but folds...right?...
mohammed benny
mohammed benny Month ago
You're so handsome OMG
Lowlands
Lowlands Month ago
Go watch LGR channel and you will realize that galaxy fold as a first mass production foldable cellphone itself is worth it. Samsungs first tablet PC, which was ridiculously expensive at the time, is even more expensive now, not because it was the first tablet PC(it was not), but just because it was the first tablet computer by Samsung.
Daumier
Daumier Month ago
Honestly this Fold review trumps all others I've seen, very informative and to the point!
Jaihoon Rahimi
Jaihoon Rahimi Month ago
Who claims, that he enjoys more on this 2000€ phone rather than iPhone xMax ??
Vedansh The Hacker
AVENGER ENDGAME LEAKED FOOTAGE @ubm8
Aditya Kadam
Aditya Kadam Month ago
Wait for xiomi they'll make a similar phone for 699🤣🤣
ZElTGElST
ZElTGElST Month ago
And then, 399
Andrew A
Andrew A Month ago
Great and honest review. Not like some of the others who have taken off the protective screen for click bait purposes
Eli King
Eli King Month ago
Damn it's ugly. Terrible design for a multi billion dollar company like Samsung. Clunky and messy. Why am I seeing most RUvidrs giving this frankenstein an easy respectable pass. Why? Because it's Samsung. Had it been an unknown company, RUvidrs wouldn't give it a second look. The Huawei has a thoughtful and beautiful design for a first pass.
Haunted by Kpop
Haunted by Kpop Month ago
Blinks 😉
Nazraq S
Nazraq S Month ago
Looks like a terrible phone
Robbie
Robbie Month ago
More consumer shit we dont need.... good video though.
Green Rabbit
Green Rabbit Month ago
It's literally two screens held together by one "screen". Does nothing new, wasnt needed, and when folded it looks crappy especially where the back joint is. Most people dont show that part in their review.
Miguel Perez
Miguel Perez Month ago
Who else wants to see a drop test😁
Ko Peter
Ko Peter Month ago
I don't think so I can believe you
Manoj Kale
Manoj Kale Month ago
What great review, keep it up
Seiko
Seiko Month ago
Hope they go for less abstract aspect ratios in the future, and the fact the corner being a bit wider than the exterior edge gives it a bit of a 'binder' look is a bit uncomfortable.
Mark potter
Mark potter Month ago
I will definitely buy one but after 6-8months when they are half price because you know it's going to happen.
ArtPhoEdi
ArtPhoEdi Month ago
Its still early to buy that thing. Wait till the 3rd version.
Dustin Charles
Dustin Charles Month ago
... Phone case?
Ross Harris
Ross Harris Month ago
"Global Touchscreen Fix" the International Dopamine Dependency Addiction - *touch your screen, and it initiates a internal response, and sends a signal back out to your eyes and brain; causing a Dopamine release in your brain...Ahhhhhh says your brain and body. And it wants MORE!!! So, you touch that screen over, and over, and over, and over🤣😵😲😨😰😌 Someday Christs Kingdom will arrive to assist humanity out of its own problems. But...it will be AFTER Grt. Tribulation Mt.24:20-21. Then Jesus Christ Messiah will sit on his Throne of glory as the descendent of King David. Luke 1:31-33 he will rule over the house of Jacob/Israel forever. There is hope in the everlasting future; a happy ending - Ephesians 1:10,11
House Nebula
House Nebula Month ago
An IPHONE 3G compared to the other devices on the market when released, is what you could call revolutionary or futuristic. Perceiving as such a normal smartphone with another screen glued to it however, is not serious, and is out of touch. To revolutionize something means bringing a completely different approach in regards to an already established fundamental process that brings an identical result. The elevator is revolutionary compared to a staircase, the side rail however, is merely an accessory.
House Nebula
House Nebula Month ago
If anything, this is actually a step backwards, as it is adding an additional mechanical part (hindge) to a product which has lts design progression naturally go in the way (using less and less mechanical parts.). Blunt. Rushed. Hollow.
Next videos
Huawei Mate X HANDS-ON
09:25
Views 3 900 000
The True Cost of the iPhone
12:54