Dark

Public Opinion: Crash Course Government and Politics #33

CrashCourse
Subscribe
Views 381 249
96% 3 205 126

So today, Craig is finally going to start talking about politics. Now up until this point we've specifically been looking at government - that is answering the questions of who, what, and how in relation to policies. But politics is different in that it looks at why certain policies are made. We're going to start today by looking at public opinion - specifically how the public does (and does not) influence our elected officials.

Produced in collaboration with PBS Digital Studios: ruvid.net/u-pbsdigitalstudios
Support is provided by Voqal: www.voqal.org
All attributed images are licensed under Creative Commons by Attribution 4.0
creativecommons.org/licenses/...
Want to find Crash Course elsewhere on the internet?
Facebook - facebook.com/RUvidCrashCourse
Twitter - twitter.com/TheCrashCourse
Tumblr - thecrashcourse.tumblr.com
Support Crash Course on Patreon: patreon.com/crashcourse
CC Kids: ruvid.net/u-crashcoursekids

Published on

 

Oct 3, 2015

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 462
B'Jon Kennedy
B'Jon Kennedy 23 days ago
What are 3 thing government need to influence public opinion
The Force is strong with this one!
Don't forget those Polls in which said Hillary would beat Trump easily. =D
Ja'vonte Clemons
Ja'vonte Clemons 2 months ago
I love you craig
Andrew Ramsey 28
Andrew Ramsey 28 2 months ago
No
DSCMFRT DSCMFRT
DSCMFRT DSCMFRT 3 months ago
Wellllllll it's a Republic not a Democracy, I've turned into all of those who came before and corrected me 😅😩☺️
Stanley Swerbal
Stanley Swerbal 3 months ago
Prepresented.
Specialopsdave
Specialopsdave 3 months ago
My AP US Government class uses this as actual course material sometimes, but he has to pause it every 10 seconds lol
Elle Johnson
Elle Johnson 3 months ago
I enjoy Crash Course AND you as a host! Great Job Craig!
tallis mortallic
tallis mortallic 3 months ago
America is not a democracy It is a republic. The framers of the constitution saw democracy as an inferior type of government that historically had failed without exception. They often pointed out that democracies tend to devolve into mob rule and eventually collapse into violent civil war.
Nyandy Nyanderson
Nyandy Nyanderson 4 months ago
Noh
Analise Rosa
Analise Rosa 4 months ago
Together the people can agree on rational decisions, though they struggle to come up with the solutions for lack of resource/ or whatever... but at the end of the day, someone like the president is going to want an "expert opinion" on solutions to harder decisions. Could not those same experts find solutions to the things that are most important to the people? Freedom of speech is important here because the media is not giving people enough information to make truly informed decisions, interest groups do not always have the funding they need, polling is not that effective either maybe we need to go back to traditional methods of democracy. The first presidents traveled to different states, talked and listened to any one that showed up. This eliminates the chance for bias.
Karol Zea
Karol Zea 4 months ago
why you talk to fast? GZZZ! I could not understand you. :/ anyone who can recommend me a site to learn about Government and Politics?
Trevk014 ___
Trevk014 ___ 6 months ago
im watching this on 2 times speed mode. I have 5 days left to finish the series and the questions.
latinchulo13
latinchulo13 6 months ago
Hahaha he said brownies!!! I'm offended lol.
TopNotchGaming
TopNotchGaming 8 months ago
“1000”
Tom McMorrow
Tom McMorrow 8 months ago
*watching this video in 2019* Yeah...about those poll results...
Michael Biya
Michael Biya 8 months ago
Where do you get their sources from? So I can quote the stats lol
N LC
N LC 9 months ago
I like you as a host.
theodore j
theodore j 9 months ago
I like that shirt. Can I have your eagle?
Kay Quering
Kay Quering 10 months ago
dont get high and watch
Abra Morgan
Abra Morgan 10 months ago
What I find interesting about this whole argument is that the majority voted Clinton, but the Electoral College elected Trump. As the electoral college was established to prevent charasmatic leaders who were unqualified and/or unamerican (not supporting Constitutional values, for example), this outcome causes me to question whether the electoral college is actually effective. I don't mean this as an argument about "politics," because I remember Kerry getting more votes than Bush, but the same thing happened, and I don't think that is the same. Bush held very different views than me, but he was both qualified for the job and upheld basic constitutional values. So, I'm saying this particular instance is different and should impact how we assess whether the electoral college is effective in it's originally intended goal. I would argue that it is not.
Julian T.
Julian T. 11 months ago
Elected officials and policies should reflected public opinion. At the same time, I think people who don't know much about a particular subject shouldn't feel pressured to give an opinion or take a stand on it one way or the other. The "I don't know / unsure" response should be more common than it already is on most questions. That way when there's a majority or plurality opinion on that issue, we know it's more likely based on knowledge on the subject.
Moss M
Moss M 11 months ago
YES
Kiley Irizarry
Kiley Irizarry 11 months ago
I do not like you as a host you scary pedophile 🙈
Taveesin Sangthumchai
I am watching this for my American History class. Craig is good at entertaining and makes it not as boring but I wish he would speak a little slower. English is my second language and I have to watch this about 5 times so that I can do make my discussion post. lol Just saying but all his videos are great.
zalutz1
zalutz1 Year ago
“Take CNN’s polls with a boulder of salt.” I agree.
isáiáh
isáiáh Year ago
Democracy or Republic?
Nelson Mike Nelson
I use the Zodiac sign as a base line. I find common denominators, traits, characters in each.
Nelson Mike Nelson
Economic, social, demographic, age, gender, educational and ethnic factors are important.
Geo Dim
Geo Dim Year ago
@1:25 you butchered the word "Demokratia", its DI-MO-KRA-TI-A, not demokrashia
2Fast4Mellow
2Fast4Mellow Year ago
2 or 3 votes from a district (435 districts) are not a big enough sampling size! So a political poll can only claim 'Americans want.. if they have votes from at least 10 people per district. That is the (very) minimal number of voters in order to have a proper sampling size..
Jessica Johns
Jessica Johns Year ago
Thank you for the insightful review for AP GOV
Evan Tanner
Evan Tanner Year ago
I disagre wit him
Andrew Schneider
Ight then. Let me leave a not on your car with my insurance
Evan Tanner
Evan Tanner Year ago
Let’s just be homies 4 lyfe and stop arguein
Andrew Schneider
I find you completely vile. I keyed your car this morning.
Evan Tanner
Evan Tanner Year ago
Andrew Schneider you are literally false. My guts are awesome goteem
Andrew Schneider
I hate your guts
Amanda Sarah
Amanda Sarah Year ago
WHAT is referendum ?
Amanda Sarah
Amanda Sarah Year ago
like an example of all the terms
Urias Velasquez
It is a pity that these courses are made by recalcitrant republicans and that the bad examples are only of the democrats. The truth is ignored and a lot of analytical capacity is lost. For example, the Iraq war was not popular either, so why is not it quoted?
Urias Velasquez
What absolute irresponsibility these courses, never say who said what, do not cite the sources, that is more than an oversight; it's a crime.
Iliketoshoot
Iliketoshoot Year ago
answer to the poll question in video. NO!
Cynthia O
Cynthia O Year ago
Did he just refer to the black race as brownies?!??!?!?!?
Iliketoshoot
Iliketoshoot Year ago
no that's a trendy style of people bro
Heaven Langford
people actually watch this stuff for fun... im just watching to pass my mid-term exam.. fml
Ishi 123
Ishi 123 Year ago
Statistically, public opinion doesn't matter in the US. Interest groups hold all the power in policy-making.
All Things Borderless
It's inexcusable that polling hasn't been brought into the internet age. Information exchange is essentially free these days, yet politicians must spend money to learn what the people think? That's astonishingly inefficient.
Mara Rapson
Mara Rapson Year ago
I do not unlike Crash Course. (he basically said do you unlike Crash Course.)
Amanda McQueen
Eagle Punching Vote! (crying!!)
Scarlett Shadow
Do you like my little pony? You referenced it twice by saying "brony"
loula glantzis
Where is George Sorts in this paradigm?
MrUbuntuking
MrUbuntuking 2 years ago
DONALD TRUMP! Okay, flame away. Preferably all sides. This comment section isn't fun enough yet.
Myriame Chery Hernandez
OH, I LOVE CRASH COURSE !! CRASH COURSE MAKE LEARNING FUN!!!!! AND YOU'RE DOING AN AWESOME JOB!!
B'Jon Kennedy
B'Jon Kennedy 23 days ago
Myriame Chery Hernandez do u know 3 thing government need to influence public opinion
bsktblmasta31
bsktblmasta31 2 years ago
thought we were a republic not a democracy
N L
N L 2 years ago
I guess we're technically a constitutional federal representative democracy ... "the worst form of government ... except for all the others"
JP Sillick
JP Sillick 2 years ago
I freaking love this guy
matt Christoff
matt Christoff 2 years ago
LoL 2017 all of this is great
Aurelio Hernández
Aurelio Hernández 2 years ago
Who’s watching this in 2017......💩
Bhavika Kumar
Bhavika Kumar 2 years ago
Craig: "Are you even listening" Me: "Wait what.. Yes I support eagle punching!"
College kid
College kid 2 years ago
"I haven't gone out since 2002." XD
Viviana M.
Viviana M. 2 years ago
i do NOT like crash courses or you as a host.
Brian Hack
Brian Hack 2 years ago
Did you circle the wrong person when you were pointing out President Lincoln? ...Or was the person wearing a top hat not him? lol
chama sklar
chama sklar 2 years ago
can you guys pretty please do crash course on government and politics international?like if u agree
Douglas Davidchik
Douglas Davidchik 2 years ago
I don't not not not not unlike CrashCourse and you as a host.
Sbusiso Phiri
Sbusiso Phiri 2 years ago
And the Motion graphic team and Editors killed it. i dig it!
Sbusiso Phiri
Sbusiso Phiri 2 years ago
Dope job by the presenter!
Next videos
How I Read and Why
3:43
wintry mix
4:01
Views 104
On Motivation
3:29
Views 463