Dark

Princess Mononoke Movie Review - Harvey & Jill's (Not So) Purrfect Reviews

New World Slackers
Views 1 207
99% 12 0

In the second episode of our new movie review show, Jill and her uncooperative cohost Harvey dive into the anime classic Princess Mononoke.
With hilarious Memes, (hopefully) insightful observations and the world's worst animal actor, we're sure to have fun. And be sure to come back for more movie reviews on the newest Blockbusters as well as the Sci-fi, Fantasy and Comic book movies of yester-year.
Most images (minus Memes and personal pictures) belong to Studio Ghibli/Disney and are displayed under the Fair Use Act.

Entertainment

Published on

 

May 25, 2016

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 3
zachmongoe
zachmongoe 8 months ago
Beautiful review. My favourite film of all time. Watch it at least 3 times a year. Brings back good memories and teaches a very important lesson in self-awareness & compassion.
Ryan Blanche
Ryan Blanche 2 years ago
*WARNING :VERY LONG SUMMARY BELOW* I enjoyed this film quite a bit. The animation, story, and voice acting was great. Although it felt 10 minutes a bit too long. But there was one thing that kept me from loving this film. It was the very last scene. It wasn't the worst ending to a film I've ever seen by far. I've seen worse, but it was a bit downbeat for a couple of reasons : (Please feel free to agree or disagree or correct me if I'm wrong. It's been quite a while since I've seen the full film). It's because San was basically the same person at the end that she was at the beginning. Hateful of humans, and a bit closed minded, as well as unforgiving. ("I can never forgive the humans for what they've done.") In my opinion, she doesn't grow or develop as a character in that regard. And it doesn't make her character seem compassionate either. I understand the hurt she must've felt. It's hard to shake it off in life at times. But by not forgiving others who have wronged you, you prevent yourself from healing and you become an angry, hurtful, and bitter person. By her not forgiving and changing, she's a terrible role model in that regard (whether or not that was intended). It would've been such a great concept of her overcoming her hatred of humans despite everything that occured. And that sucks, because I really wanted to like San more. And while I can understand them not ending up together at the end ( a tad clichéd), it felt a bit too abrupt. They spend quite a lot of the film together and bonding, and they just part ways like that. If they had at least a heartfelt emotional goodbye, THAT I would've bought. And it also sucks because I really appreciate Miyazaki's work, and I know he put a lot of heart and effort into this film. But hey, that's just my opinion and how I viewed it.
Elijah Saba
Elijah Saba 2 years ago
Sengoku period is where it's set
The No.1 Guy
The No.1 Guy 2 months ago
one only needs to look at other Ghibli films and other Japanese stories to see a trend of combining time periods. They LOVE to feature hyper-advanced technology that is also magic and ancient, so they can hit as many marks as possible....the ancient and unknown...the technologically marvelous...and the regressed and simple lifestyle of people caught in the middle. Sometimes they feature it in more subtle combinations, like having 1930s era cities and people who use steampunk tech, while somehow also featuring tech beyond our current means. With a historical piece like this, the whole nature of the story - nature/mysticism vs. humanity/industry - demands a crazy combo. And Ghibli, just by nature of being an art studio, are crafting fiction...so adhering to something 100% is never wise, especially in the interest of their creative integrity. Picking and choosing various periods, cultures, and mythologies to create such a hodge-podge as we see here is completely worth it. So there's no real need to try and nail down the real life time period.
New World Slackers
New World Slackers 2 years ago
To be honest, I kinda doubt either answer is 100% correct. I think the studio just screwed up a little. It's not like, Mulan bad. But it's really not supposed to be some kind of historically accurate depiction of ANY period of Japanese history. At least that's how I see it. You could argue that the means of almost industrial production are a big clue to the time period this is supposed to be set in. Also something about the religious beliefs they're discussing give a clue to time period. Then of course there's the clothing and architecture to also inform us of what time period the film makers are setting the story in. Unfortunately all of those factors point to several different time periods so it's not easy to just make a blanket statement about things like that. Does that make sense? Also thanks for watching! -Kir
Ian Greene
Ian Greene 2 years ago
Actually, I keep reading sites which say it's set during the Muromachi era.
New World Slackers
New World Slackers 2 years ago
We love Slacker Nerds! Thanks for the information! And thanks for watching! -Kir
Next videos