Dark

Pixel 4A review: $349 for the basics

The Verge
Subscribe
Views 628 483
96% 6 058 227

Google's Pixel 4A is here, and has even announced the upcoming Pixel 4A 5G and Pixel 5. Today, though, we have a Pixel 4A review. Google has priced the Pixel 4A at just $349, which is $100 less than a 128GB iPhone SE. Even at that aggressive cost, the 4A delivers a best-in-class camera for photos. Will the slower processor hold up to years of use, though?
Read the full review: bit.ly/30oc5Wc
0:00 Introduction
0:28 New Pixel phones
1:00 The most basic Android phone
1:24 Camera
2:46 Portrait mode
3:17 Video
3:59 Hardware
5:04 Other fundamentals
6:00 What it’s missing
6:34 Battery Life
7:20 Processor
8:15 Software updates
9:02 Flagship phones
10:19 Outro
If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy: bit.ly/2TQsqjB
Buy the Google Pixel 4A on Amazon: amzn.to/3i4eUSo
Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
Subscribe to Verge Science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Aug 3, 2020

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 100
The Verge
The Verge Month ago
Will you wait for the Pixel 5?
Daniel Herrera
Daniel Herrera 11 days ago
Tobi Areje same. 2xl but I’m waiting to see what happens with their new phones coming out end of the month supposedly
Johnny Boy
Johnny Boy 13 days ago
No
iron2000
iron2000 23 days ago
Waiting for Pixel 6
Willie Green
Willie Green 23 days ago
@choice icon lol pop
Sandeep Jaswal
Sandeep Jaswal 27 days ago
No. I went from iPhone 11 pro to 4a. It's lighter than 11 pro and battery last all day. Screen is great.
bigwheelsturning
bigwheelsturning 15 hours ago
Can this make phone calls?
A Y
A Y 2 days ago
No one cares about wireless charger
XXIV VIXX
XXIV VIXX 6 days ago
The moment when your budget phone in general, is better than your flagship
Ali Shan
Ali Shan 9 days ago
Did you hear that! The man just bought a squirt gun...you better subscribe
Hansol Yoon
Hansol Yoon 10 days ago
Ordered the phone... I'm all for just a basic phone.. wish I could take the camera off and make it even cheaper :P
BackwoodsBungalow
BackwoodsBungalow 10 days ago
At 7:36 "this is not a 5G phone" 😞
Carter Vanbeekom
Carter Vanbeekom 12 days ago
The pixel 4a is the Chromebook of phones. Just simple.
Samrat Babu Koirala
Inclination of Verge with Apple is destroying the credibility of this channel.
SuperTalleyho
SuperTalleyho 17 days ago
Is gps buggy like the 3a?
TimBo
TimBo 19 days ago
If it had 5G I'd get it immediately.
iron2000
iron2000 23 days ago
For Google phones for any price you won't get everything. Always lacking something at any price.
Marilyn Hudson
Marilyn Hudson 23 days ago
I'm thinking it's Senior friendly🤔 sounds simple. You're doing a good Job with the descriptions. Thanks😎.
Carol Dawson
Carol Dawson 23 days ago
Ofv my site.this came on my site unsourced. Never will I add you.
Jesús Manuel Mena Garza
Nice $200 phone.
Nick Garcia
Nick Garcia 24 days ago
EHHH
Riccie Jones
Riccie Jones 24 days ago
Ojays. Familey regions
Robert Daniel Polanco
Le Klok lo real qwww
Chris Boland
Chris Boland Month ago
Has a company ever pre-pre-announced a phone before?
Ed Stockman
Ed Stockman Month ago
The Verge; that you say this is the most basic android phone you can get tells me you're really not looking that deep into the budget Android market. The overall demeanor the comes across the review here is that you are just bored at the lack of features, and would like to get back to the next flagship model release notes.
Korey Paul
Korey Paul Month ago
Mine shipped out today!! 8/21/20 👌🏾
rushabh Ajmera
rushabh Ajmera Month ago
I am using the Samsung S10e. Should I Buy the Pixel 4A ? Is it really an upgrade for me ?
Zangoose95
Zangoose95 Month ago
What's going to be so different between phones now and phones in 3-5 years that requires them to be so much faster? If it weren't for the physical failures that happen once a phone gets that old, are things like texting and taking photos going to be that much more demanding? Apart from the bad screen and maybe the limited storage, an iPhone 6 with a replaced battery is totally usable (apart from software support) now and I don't see why that would change. All most people use their phones for anyway is just texting, internet, and social media, which don't require a supercomputer to use. Even games probably won't get that much more demanding, as most developers prioritize high-access over quality on their cash-grab mobile games anyway.
NOOBMASTER 69
NOOBMASTER 69 Month ago
I dont need a front cam video recorder because i never took a video with front cam ...😅
Desmond Davis
Desmond Davis Month ago
Will I need a screen protector?
Liza Soberano
Liza Soberano Month ago
Yeah thats why many pgone manufacturer making a standard yet big phones like 6.5 inches screen size to put a standard 5000Mah to wooping 6000mAh.
Jon Daniel Arzadon
I'm not a big fan of this review. It's 349, get over it. Best sub 400 phone out there
Yash Multani
Yash Multani Month ago
8:41 oh shut up please, its not that basic, didn't u check the camera?
Tanmoy Sahoo
Tanmoy Sahoo Month ago
Pixel 4a is most basic? What about Nokia phones? Nokia is also very basic and less costly too.
Levente Krisztián Büte
Wait! That was a BAD video? Watched it in 4K on a 43" TV, so what counts as GOOD video quality, then? o_O For a phone in that price range, I think it was excellent.
Santosh Kacham
Santosh Kacham Month ago
Am using Samsung S10 lite since 5 months and there's no ads in it
kenmar vlogs
kenmar vlogs Month ago
I like the phone but they gotta improve the looks of the emojis
Zeth Sue
Zeth Sue Month ago
Hi! I have a question.. @ 3:15, Does this only happen at portrait mode?? Thank you in advance 😊
Justin W
Justin W Month ago
I'd love for somebody to test the battery drain in a video call (WhatsApp in particular). My Pixel 3 is just pitiful in that category (over 1% per minute!)
Jonilan Hatad
Jonilan Hatad Month ago
1:16 is weird 😂
ruzzell907
ruzzell907 Month ago
It's basic. But the camera quality and software quality rivals $1000 flagships.
D K
D K Month ago
50 bucks less for a much more complete still camera (nightsight, portrait mode on everything), 128 gigs of storage, a modern look and 3 years of day 1 updates. Heck this thing is a wayyy better deal than that SE. My phones are always in a case, who cares if it's plastic & black on the body when all cases are either plastic or silicone anyway?? 🤷🏽‍♂️ Honestly, google nails the budget phone here and doesn't make it seem like a repackaged leftover design from 3 years ago. For all the praise the SE gets, I dunno if I'm insane or is it the crowd, that ridiculous battery with that power hungry chipset which i don't know what I'll use for. And that dated design, it just doesn't add up. All my previous iphones have gotten unusable after their 3rd-4th update anyway. So even though it gets that 5 year cycle, it's pretty much just on paper. 🤷🏽‍♂️
vbddfy euuyt
vbddfy euuyt Month ago
pixel 4a design team: How many basic features do u need? Sundar Pichai: YES
zawarudo
zawarudo Month ago
Not outrageously overpriced, no stupid gimmicks, matte black finish, not enormous, no bloatware, headphone jack included. The only way it could get any better is if the selfie camera were removed entirely. 10/10, already ordered one.
Tokiomi Tohsaka
Tokiomi Tohsaka Month ago
When comparing it with the iPhone SE, which only has 3GB RAM, I won’t expect the iPhone to be useful for as long as the Pixel 4a would.
seeni gzty
seeni gzty Month ago
The most amazing thing about this video, aside from the phone itself, is the reviewer's struggle to find a word that's not "basic". A treat to watch.
lukhanyo lunga Dyani
What is the name of the song playing on the review
Nizar Noor
Nizar Noor Month ago
4:33 Pixel 4a is pretty much the same size as the original Pixel phone
seeni gzty
seeni gzty Month ago
That is the best android phone so far ever, no matter the price point.
Nizar Noor
Nizar Noor Month ago
3:24 that video sample looks very good and the audio is quite impressive actually. "Videos are not so great?" What are you talking about?
oiuet souiu
oiuet souiu Month ago
The price reminds me of the Nexus phones 🤩 also, wearing a mask makes me miss the fingerprint sensor so much 😅
Joey Pore
Joey Pore Month ago
Does anyone know what kind of mask he's wearing? EDIT: The first one shown, the white one
robertson Patrickson
what about recorder app which also uses the neural ore?
oiuet souiu
oiuet souiu Month ago
SE. So yes Apple will give you longer support times but the extra cost is not worth it.
Abir
Abir Month ago
imagine calling pixel's camera "basic"
XeR←
XeR← Month ago
The best reviewer of the Verge
Sujay
Sujay Month ago
Three eyed raven 8:10
Hibran Tapia
Hibran Tapia Month ago
Does anyone else think Google release just one color "Just Black" because of BLM?
pecula00
pecula00 Month ago
I pre-ordered mine from best buy and got a trade in for my pixel 1. $274 total, can't beat that.
ceerw buty
ceerw buty Month ago
Would you recommend 3a for € 250 or 4a for € 389? Thanks
paralelmind
paralelmind Month ago
What you don't miss squeeze for assistant?! That's one feature I use so often on the pixel!
ceerw buty
ceerw buty Month ago
we're used to metal and glass so that one will probably feel cheap. But other than that great phone!
Michael Gallrauner
I was always interested in the pixel Phones. But google doesn't sell it in my country(Austria). I never understood why google wasn't able to ship/sell in more countries. Other manufactures can.
kolim jone
kolim jone Month ago
"The ultimate sophistication is simplicity" -Leonardo Da Vinci
JLawL
JLawL Month ago
The camera on the 4a is better than any iPhone. That's sad.
Jussi Kauramäki
Pixel 3a has everything anybody needs from a phone.
kolim jone
kolim jone Month ago
"The ultimate sophistication is simplicity" -Leonardo Da Vinci
Jussi Kauramäki
730g aint slow, hell no. I have 710 phone, switchet from 835, had no difference in speed. Atleast nothing I could sense.
Jussi Kauramäki
That is the best android phone so far ever, no matter the price point.
ceerw buty
ceerw buty Month ago
"The ultimate sophistication is simplicity" -Leonardo Da Vinci
Michael R.
Michael R. Month ago
Fine for Instagram...the mooost important point these days. 🤨🤳🤦
Mikeok4000
Mikeok4000 Month ago
The point about the IPhone SE having a longer lifespan is on point, but would you want it for 5 years? The screen is already small for 2020 IMO and the battery is as well on the SE. So yes Apple will give you longer support times but the extra cost is not worth it.
ceerw buty
ceerw buty Month ago
Music 5:55
Ramesh Alla
Ramesh Alla Month ago
1080p screen OLED Display 60hz refresh rate Great camera experience 128gb storage Made of plastic Note 20: $999 Pixel 4a: $349 One company is doing things right. Another company has lost their mind.
beatlife
beatlife Month ago
What you gonna do with the 5-6 years of update on th SE. That thing is outdated right now.
ElimRem
ElimRem Month ago
I'd rather have this than the Nord. The Nord bends like an iPhone.
ElimRem
ElimRem Month ago
he's aging hard! he used to be a young man.
Paris Malaspinas
I'm just glad phone manufacturers realized that not everyone can spend 1000€ on a phone and have started to release cheaper alternatives with great specs. The Google pixel 4a might not be the best phone out there but it's certainly a phone that will satisfy a lot of people with its great camera and stock android. I just wish it wasn't plastic because we're used to metal and glass so that one will probably feel cheap. But other than that great phone!
Manuel Cagliari
Manuel Cagliari Month ago
Would you recommend 3a for € 250 or 4a for € 389? Thanks
H.Lyngkhoi YT
H.Lyngkhoi YT Month ago
LOL I don't care about Software update I switch phones every 6/7 months
Harshvardhan
Harshvardhan Month ago
Selfie camera is better then iPhone SE, In picture quality, in Video and in mic quality 🙄
Perry Guo
Perry Guo Month ago
Anyone knows what's the watch he's wearing at the beginning?
mnika voli
mnika voli Month ago
"The ultimate sophistication is simplicity" -Leonardo Da Vinci
Jacky Chaniago
Jacky Chaniago Month ago
I like pixel 4a but..hate no microSD ..wait end of year
SMS
SMS Month ago
Lmao why is the background music so loud around 5:25
mnika voli
mnika voli Month ago
Plastic, but we put a case over it anyways so who cares -older processor, this is the only thing that does bother me but it is $350 so ehh especially if its smooth like you say
With Kai
With Kai Month ago
Not gonna lie if the 5g version has a SnapDragon 765g + Ultra Wide, I'll buy it
With Kai
With Kai Month ago
F it! I'll take this and not the Nord
bodoy euir
bodoy euir Month ago
I just finished watching Marques
With Kai
With Kai Month ago
Music 5:55
Adam Dolgonos
Adam Dolgonos Month ago
I don't know if its a fair comparison to the SE considering the SE has nearly flagship specs..
bodoy euir
bodoy euir Month ago
$349 is too much for me. I use Android for free in my Virtual Box.
Mario I/O
Mario I/O Month ago
The real problem is that this thing will be shipped with Android 10 when Android 11 is behind the corner. Will it get android 14? I don't think so.
Paulo Urbonas Neto
The review was a bit longer than it needed to be, but the background music was really good!
Mario I/O
Mario I/O Month ago
Guys, you do create great content, but the background music is definitely too loud.
Flo
Flo Month ago
if i already hadnt a phone, i would buy the Pixel 4a
CosmicMicron
CosmicMicron Month ago
Does anyone know if it will support native Google Android Auto over WiFi? Any links where this is stated? For me this would be an argument reason since OP nord does not support that...
E N
E N Month ago
You still talk about IPhone SE hello stop informing viewers to get the crappy phone look at the bezel of the SE...
The Spark
The Spark Month ago
The consumer wins. I can´t go back to having a camera embedded in the front screen after owning the 7 pro, I use my phone for media consumption, news reading and not much else, I shoot max 100 pictures a year, to me it´s nice to have a good camera but not essential. Google provides those with a trigger happy finger an excellent camera for an affordable price and otherwise a very functional phone. Reviewers place far too much emphasis on performance, most modern mid tier phones are perfectly capable of both gaming and performing mundane tasks at a very acceptable rate. I am sure exceptions are found, they always exist. For a 150 dollars you can get a Huawei P 30 lite here in Denmark, that´s insanely cheap for such a good smartphone here in Europe where all tech is far more expensive than in f.ex. the US. As I wrote, the consumer wins.
dutoiu hour
dutoiu hour Month ago
It's not 2007. I like basics.
Doc MC
Doc MC Month ago
Whoa.... I like how the video is cut into sections with its own sub titles
dutoiu hour
dutoiu hour Month ago
This is the best review channel thank you for helping people take better decisions.
Ich Nemesis
Ich Nemesis Month ago
Other than the ecosystem , there is hardly any argument to buying an iPhone SE2 , offered as a sole alternative.
opps288
opps288 Month ago
Come on 730g in 2020!? Chuck a outdated 855 there will make it way faster that this. I’ve enough of those 7xx junk
Al Chavez
Al Chavez Month ago
It beats all others in everything that is important for people with that budget. +128GB +Solid Camera +Good Battery life +3 years of updates, avg cell life is 2 so pretty good -Plastic, but we put a case over it anyways so who cares -older processor, this is the only thing that does bother me but it is $350 so ehh especially if its smooth like you say
The Desi Vegan
The Desi Vegan Month ago
I’m starting to think this phone is basic.
The Desi Vegan
The Desi Vegan Month ago
$349 is too much for me. I use Android for free in my Virtual Box.
misuyy fong
misuyy fong Month ago
I just finished watching Marques
Be. We.
Be. We. Month ago
what was that about Samsung putting ads in its software?
muzamil
muzamil Month ago
God I hate that wallpaper
misuyy fong
misuyy fong Month ago
pixel 4a design team: How many basic features do u need? Sundar Pichai: YES
dutoiu hour
dutoiu hour Month ago
3:31 the video is great for me
Nabeel Syed
Nabeel Syed Month ago
Google pixel 4a = the phone I'm most looking forward to buy
RantKid
RantKid Month ago
That used to be a premium price.
dutoiu hour
dutoiu hour Month ago
I watched a few reviews and this is the only 1 that mention correctly, it's $100 cheaper than SE.👍
Jacky Vara
Jacky Vara Month ago
I will wait for the Pixel 5 and maybe switch to an iPhone, because only three years of software and security updates is really pissing me off.
Jason Williams
Jason Williams Month ago
Great Video, Thanks
Mustafa Kaya
Mustafa Kaya Month ago
Well this is a pretty “basic” review. In other words, useless.
Next videos