Dark

Mac Miller - Circles ALBUM REVIEW

theneedledrop
Subscribe
Views 718 251
98% 39 143 663

Listen: ruvid.net/video/video-aIHF7u9Wwiw.html
Circles is the finest musical send-off any Mac Miller fan could have asked for.
More pop reviews: ruvid.net/group/PLP4CSgl7K7oqibt_5oDPppWxQ0iaxyyeq
===================================
Subscribe: bit.ly/1pBqGCN
Patreon: www.patreon.com/theneedledrop
Official site: theneedledrop.com
TND Twitter: twitter.com/theneedledrop
TND Facebook: facebook.com/theneedledrop
Support TND: theneedledrop.com/support
===================================
FAV TRACKS: CIRCLES, COMPLICATED, BLUE WORLD, GOOD NEWS, EVERYBODY, WOODS, HAND ME DOWNS, HANDS
LEAST FAV TRACK: I CAN SEE
MAC MILLER - CIRCLES / 2020 / WARNER BROS. / NEO-SOUL, POP RAP, SINGER-SONGWRITER
8/10
Y'all know this is just my opinion, right?

Music

Published on

 

Jan 22, 2020

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 2 913
Shahariar Shahed
Shahariar Shahed 4 days ago
Why is it included in pop reviews?
Glen Mch
Glen Mch 6 days ago
You looking limp my man you need to go out and get some fresh air and speak with your chest.
jose a
jose a 7 days ago
OMG ITS LOGIC!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hero in the making
Mac Miller Is soy boy music
David
David 10 days ago
Still not forgetting the fact you gave Swimming a fucking 3 you piece of shit
tmnm1994
tmnm1994 10 days ago
You’re such a snob. Acting like your taste is superior. That you didn’t like swimming says enough of your taste in music, it’s shit.
tmnm1994
tmnm1994 10 days ago
YO WTF HE DIDNT OVERDOSE. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT.
moti
moti 10 days ago
he did...
TSYMI
TSYMI 11 days ago
Why is this not on ur loved list?
Bradley Armstrong
Bradley Armstrong 12 days ago
On second thought, I'm lowering my score to a 7/10, because Mac's voice started grating on me after half a dozen listens. I still like everything else about it, though.
Boss Lax316
Boss Lax316 12 days ago
Album wasn't good
Robology
Robology 13 days ago
Hi melon 🍉
The Illustrator SA
The Illustrator SA 13 days ago
man, you're full of shit you didn't appreciate his songs
Nathan Solomon
Nathan Solomon 14 days ago
The Ariana Grande vocals on I Can See are utterly heartbreaking, rest easy Malcolm James McCormick you will be missed.
Mrbigweeknee
Mrbigweeknee 14 days ago
8:28
Alec Lund
Alec Lund 15 days ago
The songs i've had on replay ever since the album came out: Circles, Complicated, Blue World, Good News, Everybody, Hand Me Downs and surf. Overall really enjoyed the whole album. R.I.P
Nathan Carter
Nathan Carter 15 days ago
Oh wow, finally giving Mac a fair score!
Kenneth Davis
Kenneth Davis 20 days ago
I don't even know why you're rating this album after the disrespect you showed to faces and swimming. If you actually opened those cauliflowers on the side of your head and maybe listened to the projects more than once. You would see how lyrical Mac was. Fucking fool
Kenneth Davis
Kenneth Davis 17 days ago
@Ol' Whippersnapper and you were never anyone, get use to it
Ol' Whippersnapper
Ol' Whippersnapper 17 days ago
He was never lyrical
David Allsopp
David Allsopp 21 day ago
great review
wilky
wilky 21 day ago
Faces re review!!
Matt Nash
Matt Nash 22 days ago
I’m genuinely trying to understand this review. I honestly believe swimming and circles are very nearly on par. Even though others might disagree, I still can’t see Swimming being a 3 and Circles being nearly THREE times better?
Toro Totoro
Toro Totoro 16 days ago
im betting Mac's death had to do with the scores
nintendodungeon
nintendodungeon 22 days ago
“I can see” is my favorite track :/
Q Patriot
Q Patriot 24 days ago
Now go back and re-do Swimming you bandwagon soyboy-tano
Johnny Mitnick
Johnny Mitnick 24 days ago
jabroni review, why cant u review for what it is without just comparing to other pieces of work. anyone who views art like this i feel bad for
bc_77
bc_77 24 days ago
This album is beautiful. It’s a great ending to an amazing story. Rip Mac. The first hip hop song I ever listened to was Koolaid and frozen pizza.. thank you bro.
Ryan Santos
Ryan Santos 24 days ago
aprishiate
Kyle Tanner
Kyle Tanner 24 days ago
Big Bright Eyes fan, and I heard a lot of similar themes in Mac's music, as I seen in Conor's Music, at least with this album. Just felt like that was validated when you drew comparisons to M. Ward and Elliott Smith.
Faolen Smith
Faolen Smith 25 days ago
i appreciate your review but did you really expect mac to make a song about camping in the woods having a bonding experience with his uncle?
Don J
Don J 25 days ago
That’s just one person hating on macs album check the billboards he’s killing it
K-swizzle 670
K-swizzle 670 25 days ago
slatthony slattano
Evan Flick
Evan Flick 25 days ago
Review loving- if I am only my thoughts
Evz
Evz 25 days ago
I think Circles is a beautiful and honestly perfect companion to Swimming. Mac Miller meant a lot to me, I grew up with him and his music, he might even be my favorite artist of all time. He’s impacted me the most and his music has been the soundtrack to my life in a way. I’m just grateful and feel lucky to be able to hear new music from Mac again. This record is incredible and I give so much thanks to Mac’s family and Jon Brion for the care they gave this. It honored his legacy perfectly and was refreshing to see in an industry who exploits artists in death constantly. Sonically this album felt like a Prince or Elton John record and really showcases the evolution of Mac’s sound, growth as an artist and development as a musician. He was just scratching the surface musically of what he was gonna become and reaching an artistic space, many aren’t capable of in this genre. So many songs hit deep on this one and are painful to hear, from the lyrics to the ultimate narrative of the album. It’s almost like Mac knew, but the peace within this gorgeous sonic art piece of music and the self awareness was incredible to listen to. RIP to Mac 92 Till Infinity Forever, thanks for giving him and this project the respect it deserved. Just wish his other projects and him in general would’ve got that respect while he was still here. Much love man.
Flopfist
Flopfist 27 days ago
Said perfectly Anthony
Zachariah Dirazonian
@theneedledrop this is the biggest comment of your life. Enjoy
EndZiiel
EndZiiel 27 days ago
the album is pretty dead
Void Sauce
Void Sauce 27 days ago
I think Fantano finally "gets" Mac.
AJ Gyampoh
AJ Gyampoh 29 days ago
WOAH FR????
Josh Lavigne
Josh Lavigne 29 days ago
Has it ever crossed your mind that he may have called this Circles because he saw your review of Macadelic, where you describe him as 'going around in circles'?
T C
T C 29 days ago
I gladly agree that the aspect of Mac Miller's voice in the foreground was a great idea and makes the LP intimate. But it simply can't be compared to Swimming. Swimming is coherent, full of details / ornaments, yes, also groovy, diverse, surprising.. It sounds full and is resonant, it surrounds, embeds you. A lot of Circles is (well, conveniently) repetetive, sometimes the leftover elements are primitively thrown together and complemented only artificially. As far as one could know, he was quite perfectionist and I'm not able to imagine that he wouldn't have changed so so much about this record still - lyrics, PERCUSSION ELEMENTS, voice layers.. Complicated and I Can See are strictly bad songs to me, lost pieces not well tied together, not flattering his voice.. I've grown to like Hands, Woods (except those drums..) and Hand Me Downs and liked Good News from the beginning. Everyone is an awesome cover. But that's it. I am relieved you acknowledged his singing more in this review even if it's ironic, because on swimming it was much more elaborated. Seems to me you should listen to it again and recognize the completeness of it. My humble, but certain opinion. Maybe it's the respect towards Mac Miller and that he didn't have any final says, not even about all the songs being chosen for this album. Maybe I'm just still very sad!
Andrew Galloway
Andrew Galloway 29 days ago
I've been on this planet for thirty-something shit years and Swimming is fast becoming one of my most listened to albums.
kartinchamp
kartinchamp 29 days ago
Complicated was by far my favorite off Circles. I'm surprised so many claim to dislike swimming though. It seemed to have more variation yet still unified as an album. Circles just seems sad and I feel like it lacks the finishing touches Mac would have been able to put on it had he still been here. That's the catch-22 of post-humous releases. You've got other people's hands on your work and you can't do anything about it.
T Marzoni
T Marzoni 29 days ago
You had a girl wish you knocked her up, so I could meet your son and talk you up.
Ross Howard-Hildige
anthony you didn't have to say Circles was a Miller li- nah, this is too much. That unrecorded final third of the trilogy will always be one of the great what-could-of-been albums in history. It's in the Dream Library of could have been now. What a suitably sick album to finish on. Bittersweet, but so sweet
Exalt
Exalt 29 days ago
Thank you for not making those overused joke comments, I agree with what you said too. Jon Brion did an amazing job for the final album of Mac's career, couldn't have ended it off any better.
Iris Juhasz
Iris Juhasz Month ago
I think my favorites off of the album were Blue World and Good News. Blue World's production is gorgeous and Good News lyricism is almost haunting.
Alex Pollard
Alex Pollard Month ago
Huge Mac fan.. this album is not good
Exalt
Exalt 29 days ago
Why do you feel the need to include that you're a Mac fan or not? Of course you can be a fan of Mac and like or dislike the music he makes. I respect your opinion but there's no need to add that in my guy.
RegularRy
RegularRy Month ago
re-review swimming, u know u fucked up on that one
B3T0
B3T0 Month ago
Ok calvo
ZwienerZ
ZwienerZ Month ago
That’s On Me reminded me of an Elliot Smith song.
Hemal Kantawala
Hemal Kantawala Month ago
Please review alessia cara the pains of glowing 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻
Childishwolfgang
I’ll never understand why you rated swimming so poorly.
Amalga
Amalga 16 days ago
@Kenneth Davis To be fair he changed his mind significantly on Faces, he gave it a 6 initially when he reviewed it initially but since then it made his top 200 albums of the decade list and he's stated he swore he gave it a 7 at least, it was his favorite Mac project prior to this one
Kenneth Davis
Kenneth Davis 17 days ago
Same with faces. This guy's fucked in the head
Yetanotherpixelartist
@John G or he just didn't like it, that sounds more reasonable
restlessmad1
restlessmad1 24 days ago
I know! Swimming to me was his best album... and I’ve listened to Mac since K.I.D.S.
Friendly Guy
Friendly Guy 24 days ago
John G orrrr he just has different opinions and different tastes in music.
Huntor9
Huntor9 Month ago
How does he like this album and hate Swimming... it makes zero sense...
Ragnar
Ragnar Day ago
Swimming isn't horrible, but honestly it's a 5/10 for me. The only great tracks are 2009, Small Worlds and Come Back To Earth Dunno, Ladders and Perfecto are incredibly forgettable with bad singing and bland instrumentals. The rest of the track list is okay, but Conversation Pt. 1 or Jet Fuel for example just have some of the most generic lyrics I've heard in a while
Luke Torrini
Luke Torrini 5 days ago
@ILLUMINATI CONFIRMED How is swimming horrible?
Andreas Löfstedt
Andreas Löfstedt 10 days ago
@trashmid gottem. Good work sir
trashmid
trashmid 16 days ago
@ILLUMINATI CONFIRMED sWiMiMinG iS aWfUl. small dick energy bro
ILLUMINATI CONFIRMED
Cause they’re 2 different albums, Swimming is awful, Circles is pretty good
Luke Davidson
Luke Davidson Month ago
Hand me downs is fucking fire
yaboi stephen
yaboi stephen Month ago
Bro, I can see is literally the best song
Mike dizzle
Mike dizzle Month ago
Wow so interesting to watch him over-analyze and mistakenly categorize shit and then applaud the most simplistic thing he ever put out I wish people who are music critics actually had to have some Talent so we could rely on The credibility
Mike dizzle
Mike dizzle 20 days ago
@Exalt point taken
Exalt
Exalt 29 days ago
The major flaw of what you're saying is that you need to be educated on music to be able to understand and criticize music. Even if that were to be true, he does know shit about music theory, you're just judging off of what he said about the album to assume he doesn't have talent which apparently equals credibility. Keep in mind that this is his own opinion, whether you like it or not, this is the way he views the album. Your meaning of "over-analyzing" can mean surface level aspects that fantano acknowledges. All I'm saying, anybody can be criticized no matter who you are or what you know.
Navid Khan
Navid Khan Month ago
No one likes the things that come out of your mouth. . . . . Or the place your mouth is on.
Shauna Sourdiff
Shauna Sourdiff Month ago
Honestly fuck anyone’s “review” on macs music. He is one of the greatest of all time. Have your opinion but a whole ass RUvid video review of the album is a waste of time. Why can’t people have their opinions without broadcasting them. Listen to the album, analyze it, be inspired and stfu.
Bob Jim Bob Jim
Bob Jim Bob Jim Month ago
He gave him a great review wdym
not a sim
not a sim Month ago
beautiful
Saturn
Saturn Month ago
what was that big word he said before album he said it like it was a genre or something i couldn’t tell what he said
Saturn
Saturn 13 days ago
Ya that was exactly what I was talking about, I’ve yet to hear that word before this video lol, thanks
yeah
yeah 13 days ago
Do you mean posthumous? That's not a genre, that means concieved/occuring after death
H2O
H2O Month ago
I've watched a lot of music reviews from you over the times but I just had to leave a comment for this one thank you for this.
Nikki Lee
Nikki Lee Month ago
When are you doing Manic? All of the critics seem to love it, so I was hoping maybe you would give it a review.
Danno Lemu
Danno Lemu Month ago
whats the name of the album on vinyl in the top right?
bruh moment
bruh moment Month ago
George Clanton - Slide
Next videos
Rare (Full Album)
59:10