Dark

Chefs vs Normals: Reviewing High(er) End Kitchen Gadgets

SORTEDfood
Subscribe
Views 1 298 764
98% 12 814 174

This week our Chef James and Normal Jamie get a treat as they review kitchen gadgets at a higher price range than usual!
Will the price make any difference to quality or effectiveness? Will James crack a smile?
So much jeopardy. Take a peek at the full collection and comment below to let us know which one was your favourite!
Join our food journey each week by SUBSCRIBING to the channel. Press the bell button to get notifications every time we post: goo.gl/pqaw14
Ready to live the ultimate food lifestyle?
Come and join the Sorted Club to make use of the smart tools that connect millions of foodies around the world and help you create your ultimate food lifestyle.
- Simplify midweek cooking with smart meal packs and audio guides
- Visit locally recommended restaurants & experiences in major cities around the world
- Listen to weekly podcasts that debate trending food topics
- Enjoy the full collection of Sorted Club Books and build your own cookbook
Check it out here: bit.ly/2SiD6q6

Howto & Style

Published on

 

Oct 20, 2019

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 80
MrAbletospeak
I like wisky but I prefer whisky.
MrAbletospeak
That toasty thing works very well, but it is very dangerous. It is is difficult to use without touching the hot bit.
MrAbletospeak
I also prefer Bernaise.
12345678abracadabra
That mayonnaise maker is insane. It's just a whisk
Trevor
Trevor 6 days ago
Hi there lads as a utube ,found this program ,really good ,for gadgets ,so from me to you ,wow will watch all the time ,really brill
Tombstone490
Tombstone490 8 days ago
Platinum and silicon are still metal's. (tho they're safe to use in a chef Mike)
Anthony Perez
Anthony Perez 9 days ago
Come on guys, it's toot or boot!
ZipheGhem
ZipheGhem 9 days ago
The description of the whiskey glass sounds like something straight out of a Soulsborne game. Which I appreciate.
Don Vaz
Don Vaz 13 days ago
Be aware that the microwave grill ONLY works with turntable microwaves!
Wayne Wayne
Wayne Wayne 13 days ago
As an Swiss i need to say its Betty Bossi or Coop. And its a really good Company my Favorit Supermarket. Thats why it maybe is so expensive... coop isnt cheap
Stingray Tom's Florida
Yamazaki Japanese whiskey and ice? If you have any Scots fans, you've lost them.
rachey003
rachey003 16 days ago
If you watch this with the closed captioning on, at 2:36 the CC thinks Barry says “how much jerk it is?” 😂😂
KyleCorbeau
KyleCorbeau 17 days ago
6:35 So metal. Platinum and silicone are BOTH [primarily] metas. Platinum is the primary reason your catalytic converter works is a rare precious metal, and silicon (the main compenent of silicone) is what's running all of your electronic devices is primarily found in sand as SiO2. The reason it's microwave safe is because both act more like plastic glass than the metals when you cure them together as an epoxy BUT they *are* metal. Don't lie to the people. ;)
Tom Smith
Tom Smith 18 days ago
This is fantastic! So along with the microwave grill thing... How about a challenge to cook different meals in a typical office or dorm kitchen, where there's only a microwave. You could do different segments - breakfast - egg and bacon. Make a little steak on that grill thing. Boiling pasta for spaghetti dinner without it blowing up everywhere? Endless options and humor too.
HowDidThisGetHere
HowDidThisGetHere 18 days ago
My parents had a beer flute that would completely change the taste of the beer. I would happily drink things out of it that I would not drink out of the can. I've never been able to find another set.
Amazingly Awkward
Tut?! I’ve heard of tat but tut is what I do when I’m disappointed with someone! Now tit on the otherhand...
Shakes First
Shakes First 23 days ago
Years ago I lived in a boarding house with just a microwave and ended up spending a fair amount of money on take away foods. I just checked EBay and ceramic microwave grillers are much cheaper and would pay for itself giving me more options for the food I ate.
124 421
124 421 23 days ago
Pickles on a toastie?
Alex Mint
Alex Mint 25 days ago
Dude, that segment at the end with the flashing lights does not play nice with my eyes.
Trey Best
Trey Best 25 days ago
Watching this channel has taught me that apparently a TON of people in the U.K. Don't have ovens, stoves, or dishwashers. Like, what?
wasdbob3
wasdbob3 26 days ago
You guys should review master class food lessons
Angelo Mertens
Angelo Mertens 29 days ago
Didn't know Nintendo also made panini presses
Ben
Ben Month ago
Barry's reactions and comments on things are almost as pretentious as his taste in things
Philip Thehovergoat100 Evans
The ending makes me happy about the current situation
nackydmoose
nackydmoose Month ago
Man...Jamie went dark in the blooper reel!
Vina Aa
Vina Aa Month ago
I don't understand the joke
Mike Thomassen
Mike Thomassen Month ago
For me, the mayonnaise maker, is probably the best buy we have made, at my work-place. I work with physical disabled kids, and they can make mayonnaise with that. It's healthier and better and cheaper than buying premade mayonnaise, and it's a great value to the kids to take part ind the cooking. It IS one dimensionelle, but for our kids, that's a huge advantage, as the kids never looses focus when working with it. Ace product for us :-)
Vagabond Wastrel
First off, DON'T ICE THE WHISKEY. If you need to ice the whiskey just get yourself a friendlier type of whiskey. Depending on the whiskey temperature will change the flavor of the whiskey not to mention the amount of water that gets melted.
Killian Jones
Killian Jones Month ago
I just make mayo in a blender.
Chris Blackthorn
Chris Blackthorn 2 months ago
how about an online link to the product? i'd love to buy some of these.
Preston Parks
Preston Parks 2 months ago
So I recently got a job as a cook at a Japanese restaurant and my boss has the 1st gadget for sushi. He turns the vegies into sheets then finely chops them lengthwise to get a more consistent price of sushi
Sean Moore
Sean Moore 2 months ago
Should it not have been “Tut-be or not tut-be?” Pretty much writes itself.😉
Sean Moore
Sean Moore 2 months ago
Also I would try that whiskey glass for sure.
Elaina Doak
Elaina Doak 2 months ago
You think spinning that handle was hard work. Try making mayo with a glass bowl and a whisk 😂
ZeGypsy
ZeGypsy 2 months ago
cut the long intro - it's costing you views
Tassy Josh
Tassy Josh 2 months ago
Nothing better during lockdown than binging one of my favourite RUvid channels
Val
Val 2 months ago
sometimes.... things that are expensive...... are worse
Alex Gvozden
Alex Gvozden 2 months ago
wow that glass is idiotic
xLazarusEnvy
xLazarusEnvy 2 months ago
God the lisp is PAINFUL to listen to
Jack Dakota
Jack Dakota 2 months ago
OMG, the description for the black whiskey glass. You know that was written by some guy in a too-tight fitting blazer, with his manbun and beard neatly groomed, while sipping a select bean roast in some coffee shop in Shoreditch.
Anis Bendjaballah
Anis Bendjaballah 2 months ago
All my r6 Seige players recognise the first product as twitch nothing more nothing less
Timalay
Timalay 2 months ago
If they do another one of these, they should review the Mitsubishi bread oven TO-ST1-T. Basically it's a one slice toast grill (from Asia) costing £210.
AFilonov
AFilonov 2 months ago
You should try Glencairn (official) whiskey glass rather than some marketed bs...
Wade Wilson
Wade Wilson 2 months ago
why do they think everything is so cheap. What world do they live in?
TheMaxthesis
TheMaxthesis 2 months ago
eat the rich
rutgersemp01
rutgersemp01 2 months ago
"it's not metal, it's 100% platinum..." I've news for you
Lang
Lang Month ago
Literally the word after that was silicone
spiderdude2099
spiderdude2099 2 months ago
How are they surprised by the price of the microwave toaster one? They said it's silicon coated with platinum...
Battlemaster
Battlemaster 2 months ago
Norlan glasses are incredible most people don't understand it until they've tried it
Philip Attwell
Philip Attwell 2 months ago
Stuff the whiskey, does it work for cognac or brandy.
Scott Rhodie
Scott Rhodie 2 months ago
I have the Norlan glasses and they are superb.
OverlordXVII
OverlordXVII 2 months ago
should've served the whisky without ice to properly taste the difference
red_ashcroft
red_ashcroft 2 months ago
The platinum silicon is expensive, just hearing that I knew it's going to be expensive.
TreyTrey22
TreyTrey22 2 months ago
I’ll just stick with the CrazyRussianHacker
Yaseen Noor
Yaseen Noor 2 months ago
10:50 wait, why is he summoning a demon?! :U
MrArtVendelay
MrArtVendelay 2 months ago
The toasted sandwich maker is $41.70 on Amazon www.amazon.com/Lekue-0220400R14M500-Microwave-Sandwich-Panini/dp/B07RL945PM/ref=sr_1_3?crid=Z0M19TQWTHCE&keywords=microwave+toasted+sandwich+maker&qid=1583149085&sprefix=microwave+toasted+%2Caps%2C143&sr=8-3
Luca van Spanu
Luca van Spanu 2 months ago
I can get a mini grill for cheaper than the microwave thingi
MetalViking
MetalViking 2 months ago
That whiskey glass does one thing wrong: You can't see the colour of the whiskey, which is the first step of tasting whiskey (or rum or wine or beer etc.)
simkexxl
simkexxl 2 months ago
Nosite se!
Gonçalo Themudo Barata
Laughed way to much at the dad joke.
omegafighters
omegafighters 2 months ago
This "normal" sure seems to know a hell of a lot about cooking...
omegafighters
omegafighters Month ago
@Matthew Grant Then maybe they need new "normals" :D
Matthew Grant
Matthew Grant Month ago
They've been at it for 10-12 years
TheCho
TheCho 2 months ago
Genuinely intrigued by the microwave grill and buying a kenwood mini chopper 😁
Miqu Teepai
Miqu Teepai 2 months ago
Just grab a Japanese chef to make vegetable sheets... They can do it with their eyes closed.
DieWoutah
DieWoutah 2 months ago
Ice in the whisky????! No Just no...
LaraD
LaraD 3 months ago
So many kitchen gadgets are not needed, kinda cool, fun, but all gets overriden by the need to wash all the little bits for not much use. I’m sure lots of these fun things we buy but never use would get used if we all had a dishwasher. But there will also always be those gadgets that are so useless and just make more trouble than they’re worth anyway.
Steven Tkocz
Steven Tkocz 3 months ago
Love it 👍🏻 Whisky glass and microwave toasty thing for me 😃
Mo Karney
Mo Karney 3 months ago
Oy! Turn down the background music
Neil Brewitt
Neil Brewitt 3 months ago
“Carnal error” is not quite the same as what I suspect you intended to say, which was “cardinal error”.
EquinoX4k
EquinoX4k 3 months ago
Don't worry, you fucked up the whiskey anyway by putting this huge chunk of ice in there. Doesn't really matter what glass you're drinking it from.
Pirispanen
Pirispanen 3 months ago
Ice to single Malt whiskey?! BLASPHEMY
Clairvoyant81
Clairvoyant81 3 months ago
The interesting question about that glass at the end: Does the color really make the difference or is it the shape? I could get behind the glass shape affecting how the fluid in it waves around, giving a better air-fluid-mixture, perhaps more or less alcohol evaporating, something like that, but... the light being reflected? So what? Or did I misinterpret what they were saying? But honestly, the description is so ridiculously over-the-top you really have to keep the packaging, too.
NothingXemnas
NothingXemnas 3 months ago
Are they surprised that a ceramic plate based on platinum and silica would be that expensive? Come one, ceramics are already expensive, a purpose-made fruit of materials science could only be that much more.
anno nami
anno nami 3 months ago
Thanks for linking the products.
Slavicus Vile
Slavicus Vile 3 months ago
6:15 it's a Nintendo Switch!
Clayton Facchini
Clayton Facchini 3 months ago
1:54 That's what she said
Nohiro
Nohiro 3 months ago
"you're in and then it finishes" yeah that's usually how it works.
gartekk1987
gartekk1987 3 months ago
Drinking Hakushu - "You gonna be spendin' about 50-60 quid a pop for a bottle...". Mate, you just had one of the stupidly expensive bottles of whisky (in the group of the stuff that is easily commercially available, there are of course much more expensive bottles out there).
King Scuba
King Scuba 3 months ago
Wish this was newer since I know this comments gonna get buried. But for the whiskey, you put a tulip style glass against a rocks glass. Liquor fumes will naturally collect in a glass with a narrower top than the middle or base (Hence, a tulip glass. Glencairn is a popular choice). This allows you to smell the nose better (and when it comes to taste, most if it is through your nose). So it's pretty obvious the black glass would beat the regular cup. Try it against another tulip and you'll probably taste no difference.
Rowan Thane
Rowan Thane 3 months ago
Not sure who did the subtitles in this video. But it's like a really bad pirated Chinese DVD...
Matthew Grant
Matthew Grant Month ago
You sure you're not reading the auto-generated ones?
Hoaxcrit
Hoaxcrit 3 months ago
I want the microwave safe one
Unwarranted Design
Unwarranted Design 3 months ago
I actually have an Epicure version of that microwave griddle/press. It actualy works quite well, and is a bit less dangerous than the one they tested looks.
Jeeto
Jeeto 3 months ago
What word are you calling zucchinis?
Next videos
THE ULTIMATE LAVA CAKE BATTLE
17:00