Dark

Brightburn - Movie Review

Chris Stuckmann
Subscribe
Views 925 589
97% 32 631 853

Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
Chris Stuckmann reviews Brightburn, starring Elizabeth Banks, David Denman, Jackson A. Dunn, Matt Jones, Meredith Hagner. Directed by David Yarovesky.

Entertainment

Published on

 

May 24, 2019

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 3 527
chloe38583
chloe38583 7 hours ago
When was the last time you just watched a movie, without a million voices analyzing evrey moment in your head. The kid wasn't evl he was superior.
The Great Wee Wee
The Great Wee Wee 9 hours ago
So this is what happened to Roy after The Office
Bret .Maverick
Bret .Maverick 10 hours ago
Evil Superman is not an original idea.
Diablo X Machina
Diablo X Machina 11 hours ago
I felt this movie was boring. They carbon copied so much of the Superman story (they are even in Kansas) that its really just a one note movie. It feels like you are watching a movie you've already seen, with ”He’s evil!” being the only difference.
E A
E A 11 hours ago
Only person that can stop this kid is Captain Merval.
E A
E A 11 hours ago
Found this movie quite good and would recommend. Don't worry about the critics.
Syň Xclūsïv
Syň Xclūsïv 11 hours ago
Can't wait until we have an sequel to this!
Lyle .G
Lyle .G 12 hours ago
So can we please have Brightburn crossover with Super? I want more Rainn Wilson
chocolat
chocolat 13 hours ago
I wish Superman would appear in a flash, save the mother, face the kid and ask him ''who are you'' BOOM Sequel! A grown ass superman and a kid with the same power fighting would have been an original scene.
510MyTube
510MyTube 16 hours ago
I hate to say it but that bb kid is a terrible actor. He brought very little to the table. As for the story, I dig it. I like the pace of the movie, however, I wanted the story flush out better. I think, given the low budget that this movie was made, hopefully the guns can build a universe.
Milstead on Movies
Milstead on Movies 16 hours ago
I just watched it. Very disappointed. I thought it was a really good idea, executed so poorly
Rob Vel
Rob Vel 16 hours ago
B is way too generous
dreastyork
dreastyork Day ago
Entertaining movie,enjoyed it.
PhiLLip McCLenton
It was Like watching superman on red kryptonite
Fodwocket
Fodwocket Day ago
Considering the gore pictures they found under his bed along with women in bikinis, I'd say his issues had been there for a while before the movie starts. Probably wouldn't have helped, but that's the moment when you should send your kid to get some professional help.
Dennis Willemsens
did you see and the end of the movie " marvel studios " does anybody know why
Theo Davis
Theo Davis Day ago
This movie was awesome
Elliot Dunn
Elliot Dunn Day ago
Wasn't into it
Syed Meraj Ahmed
When superman meets final destination
Von Richtburg
Brightburn vs Crimson Bolt when?
J1E2TS
J1E2TS 2 days ago
This movie could have been way better and had sequels but I still liked it, it just could have been better had Sony decided to coin up.
Cyba IT
Cyba IT 2 days ago
It would've been more intriguing if we didn't know why he was eating his fork and acting weird but then when the parents figured it out we would've had to have flashbacks and it would've been janky imo. Also it was cool because it drew parallels to superman and I'm sure the trailers would've shown the ship landing as well.
Mr. Puri Youtuber
Bad movie ever 😡 tell us we have to kill all family we love !
Happyy Jimbababa
Happyy Jimbababa 2 days ago
I saw this movie at the drive in with my girlfriend and I wondered why the ratings were so much lower than I expected. I loved this movie I thought it was one of the best I’ve seen in the last couple months but I just realized I missed the spaceship scene at the beginning because I was at the snack stand.
Sigh Phi Guy
Sigh Phi Guy 2 days ago
it wasnt Sci-fi. it wasnt scary or suspenseful. it wasnt well written or acted. this review is what happens when the quality level of movies continually declines over the last 20 years. you start to think the mediocre stuff is great. it was just boring and bad. and that coming from a "SCI-FI" guy.
Dillon Sykes
Dillon Sykes 2 days ago
i missed the opening spaceship scene by accident and it defo worked how you said, wondering whats in the barn etc. Glad i missed that scene now :)
WhatCaMaHoZit
WhatCaMaHoZit 2 days ago
The kid’s a wasp. Just because he was raised by humans doesn’t mean he needs some deep internal conflict. A wasp raised by bees is still a wasp.
Joe morgan
Joe morgan 2 days ago
Wow. Link to the school scene. Didn't realize this.
Hey Boo
Hey Boo 2 days ago
The ending was sooooooo good
Scaredy Noob
Scaredy Noob 2 days ago
Sony do rated R movie.. so no holding for Carnage I hope
Charles Smith
Charles Smith 2 days ago
This movie was the biggest surprise of the summer. I wasn't expecting it to be that good.
Space Monkey
Space Monkey 2 days ago
Saw two trailers for this film. It looked amazing. Watched the film and was disappointed to see that everything is in those two trailers. Everything. So disappointed.
Yasmin BLondon
Yasmin BLondon 2 days ago
As always, a great review!
dischord blast
dischord blast 2 days ago
We missed the first part of the movie but i watched the trailer it would have made the movie better😭
Unknown One
Unknown One 2 days ago
I disagree with the movie keeping secrets, struggle between good and evil, or any other Hollywood cliches that you want the movie to have. I like how the movie is. It's just an evil alien kid who's directive is to destroy the world.
SpankBuda
SpankBuda 3 days ago
This movie shows how women/mothers uses emotions over logic and are horrible at parenting! How could she defend that demon child of crushing the schoolmate hand?
Jam Cradle And MTB
I think the point of the movie is the ship waking him up to what his real mission is on earth. So in a sense he did just suddenly turn evil, for me it was okay for him not to show any remorse. I would like to see a sequel though when we (earthlings) try to fight back and get him!
Luigi Nastro
Luigi Nastro 3 days ago
This movie is not subtle. Like, at all. 5/10.
Susamoy Ahmed
Susamoy Ahmed 3 days ago
The movie was an extended trailer. Why did they give away every single thing from the movie?!
Ace-ZK
Ace-ZK 3 days ago
just watched it and i loved it 8/10 for me or maybe i'm just a bit twisted myself...
Ned Achilles
Ned Achilles 3 days ago
Dr.phil: SEND HIM TO THE RANCH. Me: but Dr. he is already there !!
riopato2009
riopato2009 3 days ago
One glaring problem I had with this movie was how incredibly bad the parents are. It's as if they never got to know their kid and couldn't be bothered to have one single serious and honest conversation with him. No wonder he grew up to be threat to the world, he was taught to not trust anyone.
Wayne Bunch
Wayne Bunch 3 days ago
loved it
Dickie A
Dickie A 3 days ago
Spot on review
Milo
Milo 3 days ago
Hello Chris, Just watched it, pretty excited - agree with all your points and nice perspective about the budged and writting style! Thematically it seems to me that the kid actually began his journey of horror after he started puperty. He has pornography which symbolyses lust and attraction, and from the scene with his dad about the 'talk', he instantly recognises his admiration for the girl, by saying 'now?'. From my point of view it was romance and lust that ignited the hole thing, and made him just furious, when he gets rejected, and fairly so - not exactly a social genius - and ofcourse from there it just escalated. i know the theme of pornofication, isn't really represented , and it's probably a stretch, but i still found it quite fitting and symptomatic of current times. Anyways that's my deranged take on this movie Cheers
Jeremy S
Jeremy S 3 days ago
The movie was too predictable i give it a C
Jessica Galvin
Jessica Galvin 4 days ago
You gave it a B? Why not two B’s?
Harmeet Singh
Harmeet Singh 4 days ago
with every review i learn more and more about movies thank you also please start another channel on how to make movies
sbowesuk
sbowesuk 4 days ago
This movie was jaw dropping.
Viktor wusten
Nice
Denpachii
Denpachii 4 days ago
Language!
Future weapon
Future weapon 5 days ago
Just saw this it was really weird
Joe Yuzwa
Joe Yuzwa 5 days ago
I saw this movie last night, and I have to say it was seriously bad. 2/10 for me
Tilly Jackson
Tilly Jackson 5 days ago
I totally agree with you on the reveal at the start, however they would have had to have given that away in the marketing anyway given the whole premise is evil superman
FunkMonk
FunkMonk 5 days ago
It's a good villain origin.
Alex Vallejo
Alex Vallejo 6 days ago
I couldn't even finish it. The story was terrible. Great idea, didn't like the execution. Acting was great, visuals were great, the story was so dull and frustrating. I'm amazed I got through an hour before I got up and left the theater.
TheKira708
TheKira708 6 days ago
What made this movie bad to me is that he was just bad for the sake of being bad.....like his mission was to take over the world but like...for what PURPOSE....WHY y,know there was no reason that explained that, it kinda reminded me of Dragon ball Z how Goku was sent to Earth to rule it but he hit his head and forgot his mission. But atleast in the show it explains why Saiyans took over worlds but in this movie, the kid was just an evil superman thats it....:/ like a what if Superman was actually an evil kid with powers that wannted to take over the world...thats it -_- very disappointing there wasnt more to it then just that. An the rest of his kind were they gonna go to Earth to see or help him take over the world or what kind of race of aliens were they etc. just sooo many unanswered questions and he was just a kid with powers who was evil who wanted to take over the world for NO REASON and if there was a reason for it, we sure dont get NO explanation why. but oh well it was cool seeing him act like an evil Superman tho with the kills other then that movie didnt really care for it.
Sharonda Leaky Jackson
The father is grossly overweight and were supposed to believe he’s doing all that running around without being out of breath??? Lol please. I believed the superpowers more than that very OBESE man running around
Sharonda Leaky Jackson
Ghetto Lazzerbeam 2.0 yes I know. But please, do not get me wrong, he is VERY FAT. I’m just being honest
Ghetto Lazzerbeam 2.0
Your so mean jeez😂
Saifaleslam Aldhahry
I watched the movie yesterday and I really enjoyed it. I absolutely agree with you, I felt the movie kind of rushed up and I was really expecting some thing more deep but overall the movie was great. I also expected a short background were Brandon (The boy) came from, but I think this is a good thing that they made his original background a mystery. For example I think Brandon come from another diminution (Earth 3) and when he is become a man he probably be Ultra man from DC comic Crime syndicate (That is my thought). Anyway, excellent review as always Chris good job mate.
boy White
boy White 10 days ago
If superman was a god to people...then brightburn must be the anti christ.....
boy White
boy White 10 days ago
Well the never really reference that he was a alien besides of the superman origing story..
MajorShot
MajorShot 11 days ago
I found this movie wasn't that good, not worth watching.
Isaac Rivera
Isaac Rivera 11 days ago
His shirt is legendary. I need it.
Michael Kuhlenberg
Michael Kuhlenberg 11 days ago
This movie was BORING all the way thru. It had a good idea that was not thought out. This film makes Dark Phoenix looks Oscar worthy.
TruFantom21
TruFantom21 12 days ago
Chris Stuckmann Do you honestly think that not including the crash landing scene would have not given the mystery of where this kid comes from? Are you not aware of trailers?
Nick Young
Nick Young 12 days ago
While I appreciate Chris's opinion that there should have been more of a struggle within Brandon, I saw him being "commanded" by the ship to "take the world" as a twist on the whole "Clark activates the Jor-El hologram & it tells him he can/has to be a hero" trope from both Superman (1978) & Man of Steel, so I'm okay with how it happened. That said, I think that's a very minor problem that the Superman movies & this exude: why can't it be the character's own choice to do good or evil? Are they fated to do either?
brett norris
brett norris 13 days ago
This movie is objectively terrible. Stop acting like it’s decent. Fuck. I want my money back plus compensation for the gas I spent getting to the theater
yung razz
yung razz 14 days ago
This movie was terrible. Only the idea was good. It's like watching the same scene over and over again; Brendan stands in front of someone, camera pans, Brendan is gone! Cue Brendan flying in again with violence. Also there was no story at all. No character development. Why did he want to kill all these people? Where did he come from? I can't take anyone serious that passes this off as anything more than watchable.
K!NG CHVRLES
K!NG CHVRLES 4 days ago
This was watchable. I know i suck. :/
aprox
aprox 4 days ago
I agree I thought the logic throughout the movie was quite dumb. The premise was interesting, but the writing was sloppy. It doesn't help that the trailer gave away all the good parts of the film either. So going into this movie you can pretty much predict everything that's going to happen before it happens. Alright movie to watch before bed but isn't worth going to the theaters.
Michael Prescott, Jr.
Like a solid blind rental from the 80's.
myname istavo
myname istavo 14 days ago
this movie was fucking terrible
YEROCnamrus
YEROCnamrus 15 days ago
Yeah but they needed to advertise it as 'evil superman' to get a decent amount of people in the cinema, they really wouldnt have been able to keep the alien part a secret. And also I feel like his motivations were clear enough, he is still just a kid
Art Giddens
Art Giddens 15 days ago
movie was horrible
Silly Goose
Silly Goose 15 days ago
I too was rooting for this film. These are the type of indy movies I would pay to see in the theater every week.
kevin u
kevin u 15 days ago
Great review is always Chris!
Cap Glo
Cap Glo 15 days ago
If it was any slower, it would’ve been Capt. Marvel 😴
Brutal Justin
Brutal Justin 15 days ago
Great review, but I don't think taking out the intro crash landing scene would've helped the movie much, since every trailer gives you the idea that the movie is about an unusual, other-worldly kid who becomes evil. I think it would only work for someone going into the movie completely blind knowing nothing about it other than the title.
Candice G
Candice G 15 days ago
This movie was a waste of time
Lia Flexx
Lia Flexx 15 days ago
I thought it was pretty cool movie. As you said it lacked some character development. He went from nice boy to prince of darkness in 0.2 seconds. I heard so much about it being like evil Superman, but the only things that were like Superman was the adoption and the farm. Other than that it was pretty much a purely evil alien who happens to have superman like powers.
Wes Fields
Wes Fields 16 days ago
Great movie
jmac46951
jmac46951 16 days ago
It was a terrible movie. The acting was wooden. The father was miscast and it seemed as though they rushed through the story to get to the killing. You're welcome.
Pen Wednesday
Pen Wednesday 16 days ago
4:40 yes
PreferAndroid
PreferAndroid 16 days ago
This movie sucked a giant gorilla dick. There was zero character development. There was no connections to the relationships between the characters. Extremely predictable. It felt rushed as f***. Horrible! I honestly don't see how this guy sees this movie as a good movie. It really boggles the mind. 😳
TieFighter34
TieFighter34 8 days ago
Chris is one of the absolute worst movie reviewers.
Manny Johnson
Manny Johnson 16 days ago
Please dont say superhero, there is nothing heroic about anything Brandon does. He is not a hero. He is a serial killer with superpowers, nothing more.
Who's Next • 9 years ago
So it's goku without head injury
Haters Have Opinion
Good One
David Huff
David Huff 16 days ago
If you want to see a good movie then skip this one.
Nikki Movie Reviews
Great review😎Love your channel🤗 I love the superman dark twist to it 🤣
Nick N
Nick N 16 days ago
A movie that is similar to the super man story that is over looked / forgotten is 'Powder'...
Alex Rademacher
Alex Rademacher 17 days ago
great review, great points. i think a solid A , for sure, maybe A+
tinwoods
tinwoods 17 days ago
A tough judge. I like that.
Jarsky
Jarsky 17 days ago
Guess they would have had to withhold a lot more from the trailers if they wanted to do a late second act reveal. It was evident from the first trailers that came out that this was a twist on Kal-El's origin story from the Superman saga. Still one of the movies im most looking forward to this year
Mainely Movies
Mainely Movies 17 days ago
Very interesting insight, Chris! The idea of a twist could have really made this story a bit more compelling and really could have built up the motivation and explanation side of it too.
deathrider7
deathrider7 17 days ago
Have you seen Clerks for $28,000?
92680BOYD
92680BOYD 17 days ago
Here's a trigger. What if the Russians sent that kid instead of it being an actual alien. Could be a twist coming up for the sequel.
Out of Spite Production
I think he's just a straight psychopath, just the shit he does or saids has traits of a psychopath, not even the killing forget about that, just how he reacts and acts and how he's very anti social as well, a lot of traits of a psychopath, to me personally super power or not I think he would have ended up evil
MrKalashnik0va
MrKalashnik0va 18 days ago
"There are times in the movie where he expresses that he wants to be good" You mean the ONE time at the end of the movie after he killed everyone? Just before he kills his mom?
Freak Reviews
Freak Reviews 18 days ago
I rewatched the movie and still can't figure it out the kid's motivations. It's so rushed.
IvyHilts
IvyHilts 18 days ago
"Chronicle meets Superman" it's good, but I'd rather pitch the de idea as "We need to talk about Kal-El"
David Semick
David Semick 18 days ago
You liked it more than I did. It seemed more like an 85 minute teaser for a potential Brightburn 2.
TFEXY
TFEXY 18 days ago
Easily my fave horror movie
Juicy Narwal
Juicy Narwal 18 days ago
Not sure if I’m reaching here, but I also kind of noticed a really nice touch of colour symbolism. Many times in the movie you’ll see the family around blue clothing and other items, while the kid’s aesthetic is all red. Every time he goes crazy there’s a touch of red, but whenever his parent’s bring him back down, there’s always blue in the shot.
K26SMOOTH
K26SMOOTH 18 days ago
Excellent review
Next videos
5 ways to beat The Purge
24:26