Dark

Apple Watch Series 4 review: it lives up to the hype

The Verge
Subscribe
Views 2 109 692
92% 24 532 1 853

The Apple Watch Series 4 has been fully redesigned with new screens, new sizes, new speakers, and of course new stuff inside. There's a faster processor, Bluetooth 5, and a more accurate set of sensors. Dieter Bohn spent the past week testing the Watch Series 4 and, yes it is expensive, but everything is just better. Better screen, better health features, and better speed.
Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
Here's a link to buy the Apple Watch Series 4: amzn.to/2tlU21u
Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
Read More: www.theverge.com
Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Subscribe to Verge Science on RUvid, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Sep 19, 2018

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 2 618
The Verge
The Verge 7 months ago
Will you upgrade?
GameWithShayan
GameWithShayan 18 days ago
The Verge I have
Yan Lovsi
Yan Lovsi 23 days ago
Staying with Series 3. EKG and Fall detection are irrelevant for me. Speaker is loud enough, and lets not forget that for the price of series 4, you can have TWO series 3 watches.
Vincenzio martelli
Versa I getting
taylor may
taylor may Month ago
⌚️🔥🔥what is the best charging. im really loving the lumiy lightblade for charging best advise i ever got!⌚️🔥🔥
UltraKryptonian
UltraKryptonian 5 days ago
Meh!
Jachin Rivers
Jachin Rivers 12 days ago
Day 2, favorite gadget since my BlackBerry back in 2008. It's genuinely useful.
XxKO3xX
XxKO3xX 15 days ago
i remember when i used to use my watch to see time....and now look what we can do with just a watch haha
Adam Marshall
Adam Marshall 17 days ago
Can someone please tell me where he got that brown leather strap. I’ve been looking everywhere for that exact one but can’t find it!
theWizard.
theWizard. 17 days ago
Just wondering if anyone knows where to get the brown leather band that is shown in this vid? Thanks heaps!
Phoenix Dawn
Phoenix Dawn 19 days ago
I kind of wish Apple opened this Watch up to Android somehow, it really is the best watch (just missing the always on screen).
אור פאר
אור פאר 18 days ago
Buy Skagen or fossil smartwatch, basically same watch different looks, battay old one day and it doesn't have speaker but other than that they are the best for Android, and they look more watch'y. Also they are waterproof so you can swim with them.
Natela Mikiasvili
what song is this g
Mark OByrne
Mark OByrne 24 days ago
I jumped off a ladder the other day at work and the fall detection went off.
Justin Siegfried
I may have missed it but is this the GPS+Cellular option?
LOUD GAMING _4K
LOUD GAMING _4K Month ago
Justin Siegfried yes you can get a gps and cellular or gps only model I have the one with both and I love it
PNayRN
PNayRN Month ago
I lost my series 2 watch. 😢 I’m so upset.
Hazardous
Hazardous Month ago
How?
Friedrich Nietzsche
whoever upgrades any apple watch has some serious mental issues
Michał Bobrowski
Yes it is totally worth its prise, its cheap i would say.
Drew Who
Drew Who Month ago
Uhhhh...no. The Samsung Galaxy Watch ACTIVE is all I need for $199
alex kuepper
alex kuepper Month ago
Talking about Apple watches being expensive while people have been buying rolexes 😂 seems cheap compared to that 🤔🤷🏼‍♂️
Hazardous
Hazardous Month ago
Yeah, somehow, 600$ sounds cheap for a watch.
C.M. Puiulet
C.M. Puiulet Month ago
I love the Apple Watch. Problem is I have to go with Garmin because it those everything related to sports way better. Maybe some day I’ll jump ship. Right now it’s just not a good sports watch. I’m not loyal to any brand.
Archit Kothari
Archit Kothari Month ago
Siri: I’ll tap you when I am ready...
Joey Lynn
Joey Lynn Month ago
Archit Kothari I know! Mine always does that...
Wolfatadoor
Wolfatadoor 2 months ago
This is a great watch. Good video!
Marshall Mayes
Marshall Mayes 2 months ago
the fall feature is auto off if your younger than 65
girish ramachandran
girish ramachandran 2 months ago
The brown leather band looks awesome. What brand is it?
bornflex2975
bornflex2975 2 months ago
this probably a $50 watch sold for way too much!!! ..not worth it!!
Sean Nixon
Sean Nixon 2 months ago
I just got one today and I’m very happy!! Started out with the Series 1 40mm and now I have the 44mm and that screen is awesome to look at as there’s no other wearable that works so well!! Btw I’ve had Samsung S2 and my wife has the FitBit which she’s happy with and I’ve barely scratched the surface with the Apple Watch 4!! Great job Apple cause I’m damn sure not upgrading this year!!!
Keoni Chicago
Keoni Chicago 2 months ago
Which band is he wearing
Joey C
Joey C 2 months ago
What about memory?
Sourav Datta
Sourav Datta 2 months ago
Apple overpricing their products has become a feture right now..😅😅...every year they increse like a 100 bucks or so
The Illusionist
The Illusionist 2 months ago
Is this news or advertising? Is this guy paid?
Fat Nigga
Fat Nigga 2 months ago
Vjeran Pavic, he is not from USA, is he from Croatia or Bosnia or Serbia?
Wilhelm Tel
Wilhelm Tel 2 months ago
The Heart rate sensor on AW4 is a breakthrough gadget with hardly any competition amongst wrist-heart-rate sensors. Even more accurate than my chest strap
marie helly
marie helly 2 months ago
This watch is fab until the screen breaks. Then it is £286.44. They have built a watch that you can't fix, and you have to pay almost the price of a replacement. I thought this kind of design was being outlawed.
Rebecca K
Rebecca K 2 months ago
Is it worth it if u don't get cellular data
Carolle Bécotte
Carolle Bécotte 3 months ago
I like you video but for me you speak to fast, maybe next time. I French
EpicGamer69
EpicGamer69 3 months ago
Get out of here broke bois
Josh
Josh 3 months ago
But does it run crysis
Michael Mansfield
Michael Mansfield 3 months ago
This guy is a real life marty bird from ozark
Ray Thompson
Ray Thompson 3 months ago
Can’t believe I bought this for ekg and I can’t use it as apple wont enable it for the uk like buy a car without and engine
iherb mop737
iherb mop737 3 months ago
WOW you can use third-party-party-party watch bands?!
ET&T
ET&T 3 months ago
0:50 please tell me where can get this leather strap? it looks nice
Viggo Overes
Viggo Overes 27 days ago
Really? Nobody knows where it’s from?
Nick Oskam
Nick Oskam Month ago
Yess I want that too!
Super Brian Games
Super Brian Games 3 months ago
Still rocking gen 1 Apple Watch.
Carlos Flores
Carlos Flores 3 months ago
Ahhh now I see how biased reviewers are pressured to be smh smh
Julie S
Julie S 3 months ago
What is you drop the watch, like - watch in jewelry dish, cat knocks over jewelry dish, it calls for help? Try that and let us know!
azam
azam 3 months ago
I have a prepaid (simple mobile) service can I still connect to lte and also be able to leave my iPhone at home and just use the watch?
Zaif Khan
Zaif Khan 3 months ago
Kya mujhe watch do ge
Teshiana Jabri'
Teshiana Jabri' 3 months ago
I’ve been trying to get my Apple Watch face like yours for forever but I can’t figure out how 😩. Any tips?
R MCK
R MCK 3 months ago
Another video not showing things like The Internet, web pages, video, music etc. on The Apple Watch.
Claudio Toma
Claudio Toma 3 months ago
Hi, cuould you please tell me where did you bought that brown leather strap ? Thank you.
koolerpure
koolerpure 3 months ago
i upgraded my series 2 for series 4 and holy the changes, mostly im glad i can choose music from my phone on the watch again since they removed it as a classic apple scam to put it on series 3
Coleton Krause
Coleton Krause 3 months ago
Who makes that brown leather strap? It’s really nice.
Rickychaos 7
Rickychaos 7 3 months ago
Can I watch RUvid on it? Then it ain’t worth it.
Janna J
Janna J 3 months ago
😬I've the 44 mm gold love the Watch very classic and neat, it's my first Apple Watch ever , the most cool thing than the watch.. it was a gift😎I use it mostly for the gym, maan it's like my fitness trainer on my wrist, am really crazy at the gym, it's just tells me when to stop and when to go on, love love it😘now my battery is enough for my really active crazy day from 5 to 9 I won't ask for more 😘😍
AndreGames
AndreGames 3 months ago
If trade my series 3 for the series 4 how much would the 4 cost me ?
Unbiased Tobias
Unbiased Tobias 3 months ago
Unless both hands are full I don’t see why u can’t hold your coffee with your free watch hand then use your other hand
LifingRight with Dino Dollar
Can you use the walkie talkie with the wifi watch or it has to be lte?
Gary Woods
Gary Woods 3 months ago
I bought a Apple Watch series 4 44mm space grey aluminium black sport band for $839 .00 for a Christmas gift to myself and it’s worth every penny
Rigo Martinez
Rigo Martinez 3 months ago
44mm space grey for me !!
varnak singh
varnak singh 4 months ago
I have this and I can see pixels
varnak singh
varnak singh 4 months ago
Bought this hate it
No Excuse Just Produce
I have the series 1 so this is gonna be a big upgrade for me had this watch for awhile 😂😂😂
Nick Howard
Nick Howard 4 months ago
multiple colors make for easier identification, function over form. complaining that all the colors are not "designerly" is taking practical design back too the 19th century
William Ng
William Ng 4 months ago
Time is money
Its—Me Anthony
Its—Me Anthony 4 months ago
I went from an Apple Watch Zero I got in 11th grade, so yes this is a big Upgrade.
Jordan Norrell
Jordan Norrell 4 months ago
Lololol I wonder when it won’t be funny to see someone talk to their watch
Elizabeth Mcintyre
Elizabeth Mcintyre 4 months ago
I’m so glad I asked my dad to get me the new Apple watch it’s seem really cool !
ZipEmUp 89
ZipEmUp 89 4 months ago
Anyone wanna sell me there old Apple Watch? lol
Luke Meiritz-Reid
Luke Meiritz-Reid 4 months ago
Now I own the Samsung S3 Frontier Celular have had for over a year now. Ystrday left my phone at home went for a remote hike .. called my wife while trekking through woods had a conversation freely conversing loud clear no boundaries. Bottom line Samsung like other competitors have been doing this better for a long time now ** Apple with the Series 4 is still playing catchup and charging big $$ for it . Further question when the heck is Apple going to provide Always On Display to its Fans ???
Luke Meiritz-Reid
Luke Meiritz-Reid 4 months ago
Nose Calling ... Hilarious Apple being Apple making their Fans look iDiotic **
Luke Meiritz-Reid
Luke Meiritz-Reid 4 months ago
Hmmmm would say this Video Clip does expose a lot of Negatives that are real **
Luke Meiritz-Reid
Luke Meiritz-Reid 4 months ago
Everything every Feature has already been available via Competitors. Yep and Apple Siri for Apple remains iDiotic and not reliable **
Luke Meiritz-Reid
Luke Meiritz-Reid 4 months ago
Just watched another review on the $1300 Apple Watch series 4 which exposed the Saphire glass used is Not Pure and compared against a Tissot with True Saphire . In short an example of Apple selling what it claims to be Quality is absolutely not ** Consider this Apple are a total ripoff
Rohith Mekala
Rohith Mekala Month ago
apple never said it was pure saffire though, its still may more durable than glass. no one is going to make a 'Groove' intentionally.
Gary LeRoy leroygt
Gary LeRoy leroygt 4 months ago
Does it have a camera?
Ron Crate
Ron Crate 4 months ago
Kill hiv predators and I’m in.
Ron Crate
Ron Crate 4 months ago
When it can warn of hiv predators I will support it. Men spreading hiv is still a huge issue for young men being hated by older.
edgar artis
edgar artis 4 months ago
ALDI HAS SMARTWATCHs FOR $39
Ethin Whitman
Ethin Whitman 4 months ago
I'm ordering this and the 8 plus. I would get the xr but ya boy like the home button 😂😂
Ahmad Jamal
Ahmad Jamal 4 months ago
I am not sure what to do. I mean I did not use an apple watch before. But after the release of the apple watch series 4, I am starting to like it. People tell me it is not that necessary and expensive. What should I do?
Kathy Mangers
Kathy Mangers 4 months ago
There is now a setting for walkie talkie mode. You turn it on and you can just tap to start and tap to stop
Ira Bliss
Ira Bliss 4 months ago
I just want to say that the fall detection works like a champ...in fact it save my life! I fell hard and cracked my skull so much that that I needed 36 staples in my head.......note I had multiple skull fractures prior to this.....( I have a T.B.I.) I was hurt so bad I couldn’t even get my bearings ro think where one will be.....I didn’t have to do a thing! My wrist vibrated and said fall detected,calling emergency services in 5,4,3,2,1. And boom I am on a 911 call! So 5seconds not a minute.....the blood was pouring from my head.....I couldn’t even think straight to do anything....I,e. Mess with trying to make a call etc. Yeah. I. Would not be here if it wasn’t for the watch.......because I have the watch I can continue to live ALONE. The watch expensive? Are you kidding me? Price Life Alert or another Help I’ve fallen and can’t get up”.......that is way more expensive in the long run..... This watch is BOMB,!!!!!
TallSomeone
TallSomeone 4 months ago
Good Lord, to be selling fall detection is absurd. To be selling all this heart rate stuff in the name of some new way to be healthy is completely absurd, too. Just go running and eat well. Ridiculous.
TallSomeone
TallSomeone 4 months ago
The very best potential of this would be to have Siri or Google work well. You’d truly have a portable data source at voice command. But it doesn’t work well. That’s a crushing blow. Took mine back.
Dimitris Kritsilis
Dimitris Kritsilis 4 months ago
Honest question: Have you noticed or heard if the Watch 4 glass face is less durable than the series 3? I swear to you, despite caring for it like it's a soap bubble, my month-old 4 has more micro-scratches on its face than a 3 that's been through a year of workouts and accidental contact with things. I'm concerned that part of the Watch's radical redesign was gimping the material quality to cut costs. Wouldn't be the first time Apple did that :(
nicole farley
nicole farley 4 months ago
i am special ed and would just want to use it for communicating with my mom and use apple music is it worth it
ChaoticOrder73
ChaoticOrder73 4 months ago
Still can’t use Spotify or other useful apps
Nintariz
Nintariz 4 months ago
My only complaint is the silly use of the word "series". It's pointless. Just call it Apple Watch 1,2,3,4 etc.
Colin Johnson
Colin Johnson 4 months ago
I bought the watch for my wife and neither my engineer on the boat me or my wife could get it to sync.. eventually it did then the battery life would only last 10-12 hours plus to top it of she slipped the bath and caught the watch on a tile and shattered the screen and now has to fly to london from italy to have someone look at it although she willow have to pay 326 pounds to have the screen replaced. basically apple HAVE NOT MADE IT CLEAR how fragile this watch is. my garmin and fit bit work better. apple really need to sort out there policy on breakages as to replace a screen is the same price as new one plus to sync and follow instructions was a nightmare
Gladys Martel
Gladys Martel 4 months ago
Still I’m not sure if I’ll upgrade though. I have the Apple Watch series 3 and I’m thinking about the cons. So maybe I’ll keep my $$ and wait for series 5 😉
jon brazil
jon brazil 4 months ago
Hold the coffee in your watch hand
-.- Cat
-.- Cat Month ago
you would have to hold the coffee in a position that will spill the coffee. Try it, your palm must face down and there goes all your coffee
Luis Salinas
Luis Salinas 4 months ago
Are they waterproof
Shop Metaphysical Mama
Luis Salinas yes. No deep water stuff but swim is ok.
Fawaz Khalid
Fawaz Khalid 4 months ago
daddy marry me 😍
Jake Carpenter
Jake Carpenter 4 months ago
I really like your review. I just bought the series 4 stainless steel. However, the battery life STINKS! My fitbit Versa did everything I needed. Answering calls, music, apps and all that. I even got the fitbit scale. LOVE IT. The Battery life on the Fitbit Versa is 4 DAYS! apple watch is 18 hours? that is NOT a good feature. The battery life of the apple watch was the only thing really stopping me from buying it in the first place. But of course, I broke and got one anyway. I still like not having to charge my phone ever day ot two. FitBit VERSA is 4 or 5 days.
Luis Botello
Luis Botello 4 months ago
If you use your nose how does one drink coffe?🤔🤔🤔
Football Starr
Football Starr 4 months ago
I would bet the fall detection works with the heart rate sensor. When you fall your heart rate spikes, but when acting it doesn’t. That may be the reason it wasn’t activating.
Kent Lee
Kent Lee 5 months ago
Wonderful content.
Vunami
Vunami 5 months ago
apple watch 5 will be worth it.
Emma Setterfield
Emma Setterfield 5 months ago
I bought one on Saturday and it took two days to be able to get connected on LTE. But now it's up and running I love it.
Vince Friel
Vince Friel 5 months ago
Less than a day of battery. Wow
Vince Friel
Vince Friel 4 months ago
+Memo Gamboa still abysmal. my Galaxy watch can hit 7 full days
Memo Gamboa
Memo Gamboa 4 months ago
Its not true. I go 48 hours sometimes. no JOKE. On the 44mm
ENDER wiggin
ENDER wiggin 5 months ago
I just want a watch with a giant curved OLED screen the size of a phone on the inside of my wrist
ErwinA TV
ErwinA TV 5 months ago
you can use little finger instead using nose
FuZe
FuZe 5 months ago
Never have I spent my money more wisely than on this watch. It is absolutely fantastic! The difference between my old Series 2 and this one is crazy! I absolutely love it!
Ed Murray
Ed Murray 5 months ago
It is great unless you own an iphone 6 plus. Then the apps that are supposed to be on you watch will not show if they have been updated after the WatchOS 5.1.1 update. Very disappointing.
Lorry Buehler
Lorry Buehler 5 months ago
I’m waiting for mine I ordered online !
Greg T
Greg T 5 months ago
You don’t have to hold the Talk button down on walkie talkie, you can set it for Click to Talk - tap, start talking, tap when done talking
Next videos
Apple Watch Series 4 - REVIEW
14:18
my face exploded...
2:16
Views 1 394 062
FACEBOOK MARKETPLACE
12:59
Views 1 039 053