Dark

A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Linus Tech Tips
Subscribe
Views 1 421 281
97% 43 950 979

Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc…-system76-thelio-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: ruvid.net/video/video-PKfxmFU3lWY.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruvid.net/u-approachingnirvana

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Jun 16, 2019

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 4 379
Linus Tech Tips
Linus Tech Tips 4 months ago
Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
C P
C P 2 months ago
HEY LINUS PLIS MAKE VIDEO THAT COMBINE BOOMBOXSPEAKER AND PC IN 1 BOX,,
Kian Moore
Kian Moore 3 months ago
Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused
midnightwolf
midnightwolf 3 months ago
Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.
alysdexia
alysdexia 3 months ago
@lazypizzaguy gibberish
loqk loqkson
loqk loqkson 18 hours ago
I was just recommending this video to my friends when I realised the flashing screen behind the product from about 5:30 would take out my friend with epilepsy. I do see that it appears to be from the original product advertising, it's just that they can't watch this.
Scammer Smackdown
KDE does good at the shopping store as well
Prime Royal
Prime Royal 4 days ago
I think it is more workstation than a gaming rig.Similar to iMac Pro.
Chris CSS
Chris CSS 5 days ago
Install Windows 10 on System76 Thelio, Please
Blue Square
Blue Square 7 days ago
Real men run gentoo on a ti83 calculator.
SDSW TV
SDSW TV 9 days ago
Linu(x)s Tech Tips
Alexander Misch
Alexander Misch 9 days ago
I have one with a Ryzen 9 12 core AMD processor. I dislike the default Pop OS desktop environment immensely. It's too much like a tablet, which does not make sense when you have a desktop. This is also my major complaint of Ubuntu though. I have had no problems with sound though. I regularly build OS's on it and have 100% load on all threads with no sound at all.
who8myfish
who8myfish 9 days ago
Gaming. Gaming is THE ONLY THING keeping Microsoft alive. Nobody likes windows but everyone likes at least one video game they CANT play on the objectively superior Linux.
HappyTrix
HappyTrix 9 days ago
My mans said Normies
Byron Joel
Byron Joel 9 days ago
What is 'UBANTU'?
Lincoln Sand
Lincoln Sand 9 days ago
Linus is still pretty clueless about linux
Tigran Tovmasyan
Tigran Tovmasyan 11 days ago
Tbh, I've used Pop!_OS to revive my laptop and it's just awesome and easy!
Robert S.
Robert S. 13 days ago
It’s solid. I use it for my vfio host. Some distros I have tried sometimes slowly crumble. Not PopO!
Emmett Boudreau
Emmett Boudreau 14 days ago
Pop! user here, not on a system76 rig. Really considering buying one of their laptops that switch between RTX and integrated graphics. I like their " No exceptions" approach, giving a real keyboard, rgb backlights, system integration, build quality, etc. I often find laptops have one thing I want, but not all of it, and it right about checks every box. I will say I don't LUKS encrypt my drives though, mostly because of the pain in the butt workaround when it goes wrong; And how possible it is to go wrong. You'll only do that once to save your 1 byte encrypted drive to never do it again. Additionally, gparted used to not be able to mount luks partitions, neither could disks, in ubuntu or gnome disks, but the problem has since resolved itself with an update at some point. Overall, very satisfied.
jj cogburn
jj cogburn 15 days ago
At about 9:40 what is the website being used?
Garka Bana
Garka Bana 17 days ago
1000$ for a linux inux pc!!! madness, i prefer the mac stand.
Wot Wot
Wot Wot 19 days ago
"Free and Open-Source" NOT "Open-Source". There is a world of difference!
Wot Wot
Wot Wot 19 days ago
Wait, Linus is a non-linux user?
Anonym Unsichtbar
Anonym Unsichtbar 19 days ago
Fridays for Linux!
DJ Soru
DJ Soru 20 days ago
The Linux is interesting but I think in my household only my dad would make use of this pc, and even then... he'd install windows because as Linus said... the industry standards don't have Linux versions, and he outright REFUSES to work with nonstandard software (but makes an exception for Cakewalk Sonar as he HATES Pro Tools, preferring to use Adobe Audition instead). Still, the woodgrain with matte black metal and bezled corners of the case are something that appeals to his "newfound" hipster lifestyle.
GeneralGuts1
GeneralGuts1 21 day ago
If only pop os came with 'minimise tabs' by default in browser...tough for new users to accept
HchQue
HchQue 21 day ago
Do they disable intel management engine?
Andrzej Waśko
Andrzej Waśko 22 days ago
santa please bring me one of theese this year!
Gordon Chin
Gordon Chin 23 days ago
Has the company gone belly up yet?
gilkesisking
gilkesisking 23 days ago
No, they've recently got new warehouse and production space and taken on new staff. Doing quite well actually. Since Hawaii announced they'll no longer be shipping laptops with Windows in the east many OEMS have started putting out more Linux machines, seems they're on the up.
Suvasish Adhikary
Suvasish Adhikary 24 days ago
i am using linux from 2015 August
ユーネ / Yuune
ユーネ / Yuune 26 days ago
Cool case
ClobberXD
ClobberXD Month ago
Glad to see more Linux coverage in this channel. A pre-built Linux desktop from the ground-up (sorta..?) is a very neat concept. I'm just concerned about the noise, temps, and the massive pricetag...
TheMooskyFox
TheMooskyFox Month ago
just the fact that System76 consists of people truly passionate for the project rather than a bunch of workers doing *something* on an OS completely justifies the price tag for me. (And the fact that it's a fully linux-compatible makes it a perfect computer for me.)
Joakim Durehed
Joakim Durehed Month ago
I''ve been running Pop OS now for six months or so, not on System 76 hardware, but it runs perfect! Think it one of the best distros out there for us who don't have the time to tinker that much.
Deadsayer
Deadsayer Month ago
A lot of LInux distros are a lot more user friendly than they used to be these days. I personally use Mint, which I've also converted my uncle to. He is absolutely a "normie" and almost never uses Windows anymore. The live boot image on the internal storage is very handy but this thing is pretty niche, I think.
I like windows 10
linux is a peace os shit so is the linux community anyone looking at it will sink into the black hole of finding a perfect linux os they wont and will install windows 10 after admitting defeat linux is quite simply a peace of shit
gilkesisking
gilkesisking Month ago
say what you think dude, say what you think
Julian Alexander
Jeez! Who compiles Linux kernel these days!? We are in 2019 Linus!
Donny R
Donny R Month ago
Linux Rocks! I have been using GNU/Linux as my daily driver for over 15 years.
boy with lyric
boy with lyric Month ago
It's like kalk linux
boy with lyric
boy with lyric Month ago
@Ishan Agarwal thank u bra
Ishan  Agarwal
Ishan Agarwal Month ago
Kali is based in debian and ubuntu is based debian hence they are similar and by default use gnome as DE
Magnus Sörensen
Btw. I use Arch!
MobileDecay
MobileDecay Month ago
I don't think everyday users care.
gordon
gordon Month ago
typical linux fanboys product no one except diehard linux enthusiast will buy this piece of fucking poo
webb
webb Month ago
I'm glad you assumed we use Gentoo.
drpacman579
drpacman579 Month ago
cost is an issue but the idea is pretty good. its implementation is good too
Boybacintown
Boybacintown Month ago
What they got wrong? They installed Linux on it instead of windows.
Jaime Rios
Jaime Rios Month ago
Well, I’m a macOS user, but this Linux desktop has peaked my interest. Certainly much more reasonable in price than what Apple has recently offered.
Joel Robert Justiawan
1:15 Linus Tech Tips writes data to your screen! Lol!
Loading Official
Delete System76! *It would your compuer faster...*
Linux Quest
Linux Quest Month ago
Pop! OS has become very popular in the Linux community. Their fan-base on the hardware side is growing as well and rightly so, they have great support and make a quality product from every review I have watched. To your points about compiling the kernel etc. those days are long gone, most distros are a breeze to install and set up. Very good and fair review.
BlankFX
BlankFX Month ago
"build from the ground up" != "Using Linux kernel". Linus telling us nonsense yet again.
Mark Vickroy
Mark Vickroy Month ago
Douche
Adil Taibasarov
Adil Taibasarov Month ago
I bet beathesda only use this pc
Hanro50
Hanro50 Month ago
Personally I am a Linux mint user. I find it a lot more stable than ubuntu, being able to take a considerable amount of abuse without ever really failing. Also, installing stuff via the gui without ubuntu's buggy software center is amazing
Chilean Guy #6
Chilean Guy #6 Month ago
A ban too, hahaha
wUnp
wUnp Month ago
The most important question is - Can System76 run Fallout76??? xD
Prism Glider
Prism Glider Month ago
What's so bad about windows? Honestly? I've heard so many people say windows is slow or clunky or just bad but nobody's explained their problem with it. I've never noticed that. I like Linux, but I've only used it sparingly. I don't see a reason to move off windows for it though. Windows is where most development for programs is focused, that might be an unfortunate fact but it's true. It's got lots and lots of options.
Roberto Campos
Roberto Campos Month ago
The wrong: Price. The right: Everything else;
Peter Papineau
Peter Papineau 2 months ago
Looks to me like the Brits are better at building computers. Maybe they need to re-invade Canada. ruvid.net/video/video-N-z9PidYH4E.html
Marco R. Cáceres López
I wonder what would happen to dollar shave club when we are no longer in need of our bodies and our conscious is uploaded to the internet?
Reece Scott
Reece Scott 2 months ago
8:45 "github page" hahaha what a novice
Paul Debaecker
Paul Debaecker 2 months ago
One of the big advantages too is the sheer fact that it comes fully assembled and ready to boot, which for a linux PC is a big thing as far as expanding user shares is concerned
Rob Tingle
Rob Tingle 2 months ago
I LOVE Pop Os!
Cat V
Cat V 2 months ago
I've been a "normal person Linux user" for years and years. It's a lot more accessible than people seem to think. Even after all this time, I don't know how to do very much in the terminal. I've never really needed to with Mint and Ubuntu, which are my primary distros. I think it's great that it's finally making it out to a wider audience and coming installed on prebuilds and laptops. There's tons of good reasons to use Linux even if you're not a techie, and honestly, I wouldn't go back.
Neurotransmission
Neurotransmission 2 months ago
Linus, what do you mean industry standards aren't on the platform? Are you telling me Lightworks isn't an industry standard? What about Maya? Is everyone an Adobe junkie these days?
Neurotransmission
Neurotransmission 2 months ago
...I literally have DaVinci Resolve installed natively on Ubuntu right now; and in fact Maya 2019 works in Ubuntu but won't work in Windows 7. Fancy that?
Next videos
My Gaming Desktop!
6:55