Dark

A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Linus Tech Tips
Subscribe
Views 1 314 112
97% 41 838 932

Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
Intro Screen Music Credit:
Title: Laszlo - Supernova
Video Link: ruvid.net/video/video-PKfxmFU3lWY.html
iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruvid.net/u-approachingnirvana

Science & Technology

Published on

 

Jun 16, 2019

desktoppclinuxsystem76pop!_osgamingworkstationopen sourcegithubmade in the USAapple-likeRyzenRTXperformancebenchmarkanalysisreview

Share:

Link:

Download:

Loading link...

Add to:

My playlist
Watch later
Comments 4 222
Linus Tech Tips
Linus Tech Tips Month ago
Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
midnightwolf
midnightwolf 9 days ago
Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.
alysdexia
alysdexia 14 days ago
@lazypizzaguy gibberish
pxc
pxc 21 day ago
@alysdexia is the pricing actually that tilted in Apple's favor?
lazypizzaguy
lazypizzaguy 21 day ago
@alysdexia learn how to not be an trump.
alysdexia
alysdexia 21 day ago
@Biophosphorodellecrystalluminicent Archetype luminescent, dolt
carringbushpet
carringbushpet 9 hours ago
There is a lot of dislikes about the 'seizure inducing' B-Roll footage. I think the concept of it was simple and brilliant, it was aesthetically great. Probably just needed a little less strobe type footage.
xaGe
xaGe 10 hours ago
Listening to you speak about Linux in the 1st few minutes you can definitely tell you are not familiar with anything Linux from the last 3+ years. I cringed when you start talking about having to compile kernels or finding the necessary repos.
homelessEh
homelessEh 10 hours ago
The ultimate Hipster Compy!!!! its nostalgic looking free open source os bra and its expencive..social signal for both hey im frugal look i use a free os but paid the same or more for a shillputer.
homelessEh
homelessEh 10 hours ago
pop os has me sold i refuse to Pay for winblows 10 .. once 7 becomes Deader then vista.. its pop os by then it will be super mature and fully fleshed out by then.
Zi&D
Zi&D 10 hours ago
I always thought Linus was for Linux
Dave
Dave 10 hours ago
Rossmann quote: Dont Delay, Buy Today
Sai Nai
Sai Nai 11 hours ago
bullshit content
Daniel Rios
Daniel Rios 12 hours ago
"Normals" manufacturers should use Linux in their products as well, Linux has a lot of preconception, it is much better than the normal user ever thought
nope
nope 12 hours ago
{interviewing the thelio parts and quality chart} ....thats a ali express button .
George B
George B 12 hours ago
Theleos is Greek for perfect
Littletweeter
Littletweeter 13 hours ago
this pc company is for people that have fuck you money lmao
Nick Slouka
Nick Slouka 14 hours ago
*LGR signal appears in the sky*
Christopher Council
Christopher Council 14 hours ago
Did you guys call there support?
Lanngreen
Lanngreen 16 hours ago
had to stop halfway the video because my eyes started hurting from the footage ._.
Mikael Kiviniemi
Mikael Kiviniemi 16 hours ago
Roses are red Violets are blue Help me I deleted system32
skillzorz101
skillzorz101 16 hours ago
I think you put the wrong sponsor link in the bio. I'm actually interested in those laptop bags, but Dollar Shave Club is listed.
Chrash
Chrash 20 hours ago
A couple years ago I was at my grandma's house to use her printer and I got on her PC and it had Linux on it. I couldn't figure out how to navigate it so my grandma had to teach me how to use Linux...
sinni800
sinni800 Day ago
"No motherboard upgrade", but can the BIOS be upgraded to use Ryzen 3? If yes, could probably pop a 3900X in and upgrade the perf a lot?
Diego Linde
Diego Linde 2 days ago
Sorry, System76 is too expensive.
Leslie Savege
Leslie Savege 3 days ago
I didn't like the website either for the same reasons Linus mentioned. Linus shows his ignorance of Linux, when he talks about it, like the way software is loaded, which is pretty standard now. 2:35 It runs faster and leaner than Windoze, who likes to look over your shoulder.
peabody
peabody 4 days ago
I bought a thelio and its very stylish very powerful and DESIGNED to run Linux 0 compatibility issues. Yes i could have built my own, then you are stuck with individual parts that you need to rma if something goes wrong AND may not be compatible with Linux. You see, Ive been running Linux for 3 yrs and will NOT go back to windows........EVER! Hell, windows will not even install on this machine at all. Trust me Ive tried multiple ways and times! IMO it's money well spent!
Force
Force 4 days ago
I don't like that 76!
Vaijanath Madugolkar
I installed POP on my dell XPS 12. Since POP OS have enforced the disc encryption most of the time when i start my computer it just sits on auth page without response. When i install ubuntu i have choice to not encrypt my disc.
gilkesisking
gilkesisking 3 days ago
@Vaijanath Madugolkar :) yeah cool, but you probably want to make yourself one anyway for security. sudo passwd username Just to be on the safe side.
Vaijanath Madugolkar
gilkesisking I just tried installing solution is simply " Simply select to not set a password, and you don't have encryption"
gilkesisking
gilkesisking 4 days ago
Disc encryption is done by default during the PopOS install. Its not "enforced", if you don't want that ( say you're a storing game files on the same disk ) then you can select the advanced install option and set it up how you want, with or without encryption.
Jan Enemark
Jan Enemark 5 days ago
Linus, you should watch destinationlinux.org, and then join the program once. These guys will make you much wiser on the posibilities using Linux OS.
Snypa007
Snypa007 10 days ago
the 80's background interference is more annoying than the review! I literally can not watch this because of it!
Defunct Lizard
Defunct Lizard 13 days ago
You don't need to compile a kernel to install linux, Not everything is gentoo. Jeez linux is super easy to install, learn, and use.
Clovet Music
Clovet Music 14 days ago
Expensive done right
Lindsay
Lindsay 15 days ago
Proprietary case with open source software thats been unpopular for decades?
Vinicio Coelho
Vinicio Coelho 16 days ago
They are awesome bit expensive.
Generic Eric
Generic Eric 16 days ago
It's imperative to mention Lutris as well as Proton.
Eli Santana
Eli Santana 16 days ago
I know System 76 has to make money but their mark-up on hardware is unacceptably high. They charge RTX 2080 price for a 2070. Come on now. Sell the cards at cost at least.
Kagyu Breigh
Kagyu Breigh 17 days ago
OMG, this song is from a game or sounds super similar to one! It's on the tip of my brain... uggghh .. I can't even hear what Linus is saying anymore. This.. is killing me
bean stalker
bean stalker 17 days ago
Let me introduce your IO to my Dremel.
Captain Comrade
Captain Comrade 17 days ago
When are you going to bring back 16:9 videos?
greg roberts
greg roberts 17 days ago
I love seeing people building a machine like this, great review linus
Anil Gulati
Anil Gulati 19 days ago
Better than a cheese grater
Techboy235 FK8
Techboy235 FK8 17 days ago
Yeah
Mike M
Mike M 19 days ago
I'm watching this on Pop OS 19.04 on my W3690 Dell Workstation with an RX 560. And it runs fast!
J 984
J 984 17 days ago
I'm watching this on Windows xp and it runs..... NOSTALGIC!
MaDoTPG
MaDoTPG 20 days ago
linux tech tips
Bon Bonjovi
Bon Bonjovi 20 days ago
Linus is the type of guy who drinks soda out a can
kakaido
kakaido 21 day ago
Just disable telemetry and use Windows 10
Anton Zadorozhniy
System76 is great but you should really check out Raptor Talos systems, that’s way more OSS friendly (no hidden microcode or firmwares)
Gd moo5555
Gd moo5555 21 day ago
Who else cringed when it said counter strike go
Assbender666
Assbender666 21 day ago
Overboard with the effects, who thought that looked good?
05Matz
05Matz 21 day ago
I've been using Linux Mint (Cinnamon) for years now -- I find it somewhat easier to install, maintain, and install/uninstall software on than the Windows 7 I used to use (Why, oh WHY doesn't Windows have a package manager?), and FAR less of a chore than the Windows 10 computers I'm occasionally forced to struggle with for family. My laptop is from System76, and I pretty much couldn't be happier with the product or service (it came with Ubuntu when shipped, but I installed Mint on it later) but I built my desktop myself -- and I'd do it again, since I can't justify the premium price over commodity hardware. PopOS sounds interesting, and I've been casually looking at it every now and then, but I think I'll stick with Mint for now. The 'classic' Mint-X interface style is basically the Windows 7 replacement I wanted in the beginning, and I've become very used to it by now.
wompshmack
wompshmack 21 day ago
I was a hardware nerd even as a little kid, didn't get into linux until I was a teenager. When I met linux nerds I assumed they'd know things about hardware, but that really wasn't my experience. I had to install for them, in different situations, a power supply and a CD drive. I think it's even worse now. Hardware is much easier, but there's even fewer people into it.
Deryk Lister
Deryk Lister 21 day ago
NVidia GPU is an interesting choice on a Linux machine
Reprisal
Reprisal 22 days ago
Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.
Holret
Holret 22 days ago
I would love to see more Linux systems being introduced in one complete package. I have been wanting to get into it for a while because well, Windows 10 isnt the most ideal OS I have ever used.
gilkesisking
gilkesisking 22 days ago
ruvid.net/video/video-yZpmlRam6KY.html
Tom Ruff
Tom Ruff 22 days ago
Normies is a furry term
Next videos